Four Streamers Sell Out-of-Home Sharing, From $6.99 a Month
Netflix, Disney+, Hulu and HBO Max let the account owner pay for someone who lives elsewhere. Peacock’s answer is a separate account.
If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Netflix, Disney+, Hulu and HBO Max do not let you share a login with someone outside your home for free, but each sells a paid slot for them: $7.99 to $9.99 a month on Netflix, $6.99 to $14.99 on Disney+ and Hulu depending on your plan, and $7.99 on HBO Max. Peacock’s help centre says it should not be shared outside your household and points people outside it to their own account.
The account owner pays, the extra member gets their own login and one profile, and on all four services they watch on one device at a time. Disney+, Hulu and HBO Max also require them to be in the same country as the account.
What each service allows, and what it costs
| Service | Household rule | Extra-member option and US price | Which plans can add one |
|---|---|---|---|
| Netflix | Cannot be shared outside your household | $7.99/mo with ads or $9.99/mo without, per extra member | Standard (1) and Premium (up to 2). Not Standard with ads |
| Disney+ | Cannot be shared outside your household | Extra Member: $6.99/mo on Disney+ with ads, $9.99 on Premium, $7.99–$14.99 on bundles | One per subscription. Not on ESPN Unlimited, HBO Max or NFL+ bundles |
| Hulu | Cannot be shared outside your household | Extra Member: $6.99/mo on Hulu with ads, $9.99 on Premium, $7.99–$14.99 on bundles | One per subscription. Not on Hulu + Live TV |
| HBO Max | For “you and the people you live with” | Extra Member Add-On: $7.99/mo | Billed by HBO Max directly, outside the Disney+ bundle. Number and tiers not stated on its help pages |
| Peacock | “Should not be shared outside of your household” | None; outsiders “can sign up for their own Peacock account” | Not stated on its help pages |
| Paramount+ | Not stated on its US plans page | None listed on its US plans page | Not stated on its US plans page |
Prices are before tax, as each help centre listed them on 13 October 2026. The bundle prices for Disney+ and Hulu run from $7.99 on the Disney+, Hulu Bundle to $14.99 on the Disney+, Hulu, ESPN Select Bundle Premium, and both companies’ pages give the same Extra Member figures.
What “household” means to them
Disney+, Hulu and Peacock all tie the household to your primary personal residence: the devices used there, or where you most regularly watch. Netflix uses the same idea, “a collection of devices connected to the internet at the main residence where you watch Netflix”.
HBO Max spells out a case the others leave implicit. People who do not live with you, “including family members living at another location, such as a college dorm”, need their own account or an Extra Member slot. It also warns that sharing your credentials with people who don’t live with you “will affect your ability to access HBO Max in the future”.
Travel is a separate matter. Peacock says you can still watch away from home on a device associated with your household, and Disney+ gives TVs an “I’m away from home” option alongside updating the household.
What an extra member gets, and what they give up
The slot is a cut-down account, not a copy of yours:
- One stream, one profile. All four services limit the extra member to one device at a time and a single profile.
- Netflix’s cheaper slot carries ads. The $7.99 extra member watches with ads, in 1080p only, with no spatial audio and 15 downloads a month. The $9.99 slot matches your plan’s video quality.
- Disney+, Hulu and HBO Max match your plan’s quality. Disney+ and Hulu say the extra member gets “the same video and audio quality as the account holder”. HBO Max says an extra member on Premium can get 4K on select titles.
- The extra member must be an adult elsewhere in your country. Disney+, Hulu and HBO Max require them to be 18 or over and in the same country; Disney+ and Hulu also rule out anyone who already has an active Disney+, Hulu or ESPN subscription.
Is the slot worth it?
On price alone it is usually a little cheaper than a second subscription, not much cheaper. A Netflix extra member with ads costs $7.99 against $8.99 for Netflix’s own Standard with ads plan, and HBO Max’s $7.99 add-on undercuts its $10.99 Basic with Ads plan. The saving buys less than a full account: one profile, one stream, and no control over the plan.
The ad-free version adds up. A $9.99 Netflix extra member is $119.88 a year on top of your own plan, more than a year of HBO Max with ads at $109.99. If you are counting what streaming costs your household, what it costs to take the ads out and the subscriptions a typical household carries put that number in context.
Where the rules are not written down
Two gaps are worth knowing before you pay or share.
Paramount+. Its US plans page talks about “profiles for each member of your household” but states no rule on sharing outside it and lists no extra-member add-on. Its US help search returned an error page on 13 October, so a rule may sit in an article that search would have found.
Prime Video. Amazon’s help pages are on amazon.com, which we did not read for this piece, so it has no row here rather than a guessed one.
If you pay through an app store, a cable company or a phone carrier, check there first. Netflix and HBO Max say the add-on cannot be bought on accounts a third party bills, and Disney+ describes adding one only for accounts it bills directly.
Questions people ask
Can I share my Netflix password with someone who doesn’t live with me?
Not for free. Netflix says accounts cannot be shared outside the household. On Standard or Premium you can pay for an extra member instead: $7.99 a month with ads or $9.99 without. Standard allows one, Premium up to two. Standard with ads cannot add any.
How much is an extra member on Disney+?
$6.99 a month on Disney+ with ads and $9.99 on Disney+ Premium. On bundles it is $7.99 to $14.99. One per subscription, and not available on the ESPN Unlimited, HBO Max or NFL+ bundles.
Does Hulu have an extra member option?
Yes, priced like Disney+’s: $6.99 a month on Hulu with ads, $9.99 on Hulu Premium, $7.99 to $14.99 on bundles. One per subscription, and not with Hulu + Live TV.
How much does it cost to add someone to HBO Max?
$7.99 a month plus tax for the Extra Member Add-On. You must be billed by HBO Max directly; app-store, cable, phone and Disney+, Hulu, HBO Max Bundle subscribers cannot buy it.
Can I share Peacock outside my household?
Peacock says it should not be shared outside your household and that people outside it can sign up for their own account. Its help pages describe no paid add-on for an outside member.
Can my kid at college use our streaming account?
HBO Max says no: people who do not live with you, “including family members living at another location, such as a college dorm”, need their own account or an Extra Member slot. Netflix, Disney+ and Hulu define household by your main residence too.
Is an extra member cheaper than a separate subscription?
Usually, a little. A Netflix extra member with ads is $7.99 against $8.99 for Netflix’s own ad plan, and HBO Max’s $7.99 add-on undercuts its $10.99 Basic with Ads. The extra member gets one profile and one stream.
How we researched this
No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.
- What this cannot tell you
- Prime Video is left out: its help pages are on amazon.com, which this research does not read, so we have not checked its current rule. Paramount+’s US help search returned an error page, so its rule may be stated in an article we could not reach; we say only what its plans page says. Prices are US list prices on 13 October 2026, before tax, and Netflix and HBO Max say the add-on is unavailable when a third party such as an app store or a cable or phone provider bills you; Disney+ describes adding one only for accounts it bills directly. Disney+’s and Hulu’s own pages disagree on the base price of the Disney+, Hulu Bundle Premium ($19.99 on Disney+, $21.99 on Hulu); the Extra Member prices on both pages agree.
How we chose this, and what we did
- Why this subject
- Google Trends had the seed “streaming service” at 100% of its 12-month peak on 4 October 2026. The reader question behind much of that is practical: can I keep sharing a login with someone who does not live with me, and what does it cost if not. Our streaming pages so far cover what plans cost, not who may use them.
- How we looked at it
- Every rule and price is from the service’s own US help centre, read through a browser on 13 October 2026: Netflix’s Plans and Pricing and Extra Members articles; Disney+’s Sharing, Extra Member and Plans and Prices articles; Hulu’s Sharing, Extra Member and Plans and Prices articles; HBO Max’s Account Sharing, Extra Member Add-On and Plans articles; Peacock’s “What is a Peacock household?”; Paramount+’s US Plans and Pricing article. Absence claims carry a control. HBO Max’s Extra Member article states the add-on’s price ($7.99) and billing limits but no cap on how many extra members and no list of eligible tiers. Peacock’s household article states its sharing rule and points outsiders to “their own Peacock account”, and a site search of peacocktv.com for “extra member” returned nothing. Paramount+’s plans article uses the word household (“Up to 6 individual profiles for each member of your household”) but states no sharing rule and no add-on.
What this rests on
6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.
Netflix accounts cannot be shared outside the household; an extra member costs $7.99 a month with ads or $9.99 without, one on Standard and up to two on Premium.Official
Netflix Plans and Pricing: “You cannot share your Netflix account outside of your household… People who are not in your household can be added as an extra member.” Standard: “Add 1 extra member for $7.99 / month with ads or $9.99 / month without ads.” Premium: “Add up to 2 extra members for $7.99 each / month with ads or $9.99 each / month without ads.”
Netflix’s Standard with ads plan cannot add an extra member.Official
Netflix Extra Members: “To add an extra member, you need a Standard or Premium plan. Note: Extra members cannot be added to an ad-supported experience, third-party billed accounts, or some packages.”
Disney+ and Hulu each allow one Extra Member per subscription, priced from $6.99 to $14.99 a month by plan, and not on the ESPN Unlimited, HBO Max or NFL+ bundles.Official
Disney+ Extra Member: “A Disney+ or bundle subscription can have one Extra Member.” Disney+ Plans and Prices: “Disney+ (With Ads): $6.99 monthly Disney+ Premium: $9.99 monthly Disney+, Hulu Bundle: $7.99 monthly Disney+, Hulu Bundle Premium: $10.99 monthly Disney+, Hulu, ESPN Select Bundle: $11.99 monthly Disney+, Hulu, ESPN Select Bundle Premium: $14.99 monthly.” Hulu’s page lists Hulu (With Ads) $6.99 and Hulu Premium $9.99 with the same bundle prices.
HBO Max’s Extra Member Add-On costs $7.99 a month and is sold only to subscribers billed directly by WarnerMedia outside the Disney+, Hulu, HBO Max Bundle.Official
HBO Max Extra Member: “Account owners pay $7.99/month (plus applicable taxes) for the Extra Member Add-On.” “The Extra Member Add-On is available to HBO Max subscribers billed through WarnerMedia that are not part of the Disney+, Hulu, HBO Max Bundle.”
Peacock says it should not be shared outside the household, and its help article points people outside it to their own account rather than a paid add-on.Official
Peacock Help: “Peacock is for your personal, non-commercial use only and should not be shared outside of your household… People outside of your household can sign up for their own Peacock account.”
An extra member streams on one device at a time on Netflix, Disney+, Hulu and HBO Max.Official
Netflix: “Watch on only 1 supported device at a time.” Disney+ and Hulu: “Ability to stream and download content on one device at a time.” HBO Max: “Stream on any supported device (1 device at a time).”
Sources 13
- Plans and Pricing — Netflix Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- Extra Members — Netflix Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- Sharing your Disney+ subscription — Disney+ Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- Extra Member on Disney+ — Disney+ Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
Show 9 more · 9 official or standards
- Disney+ plans and prices — Disney+ Help Center (US), updated 7 October 2026Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- Sharing your Hulu subscription — Hulu Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- How to add an Extra Member on Hulu — Hulu Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- Hulu plans and prices — Hulu Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- HBO Max account sharing — HBO Max Help (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- Extra members on HBO Max — HBO Max Help (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- HBO Max plans — HBO Max Help (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- What is a Peacock household? — Peacock Help CenterOfficialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
- What plans are available for Paramount+, and how much do they cost? — Paramount+ Help Center (US)Officialaccessed Oct 13, 2026
Pass it on
Know someone weighing this up? Send them the answer.
bitcritiq.com/px6qThe link is permanent: it opens this article for good, even if the title changes.
No email, no account
Follow bitcritiq
Every new article, in whatever reader you already use.
Subscribe by RSSAll the ways to follow
Using Chrome on Android? Open the browser menu and tap Follow. New articles then turn up in the Following tab in Discover.
read next
Free Airline Wi-Fi Needs a Loyalty Login, Except JetBlue
Delta, United, American, Southwest, Alaska and Hawaiian are free on equipped planes for members; JetBlue asks for a short ad.
Spotify Premium Is $12.99; Family Covers 6 for $21.99
Duo is $18.99 for two at one address and Student $6.99 with Hulu. Individual and plan managers get 15 audiobook hours a month.
YouTube Premium Lite Keeps Ads on Music and Shorts
At $8.99 a month against $15.99, Lite also leaves out the YouTube Music app and downloads or background play for songs.
Apple One Costs $13 to $35 a Month Less Than Its Parts
Individual $21.95: Music, TV, Arcade, 50GB. Family $27.95: the same with 200GB, for six. Premier $39.95 adds News+, Fitness+, 2TB.