The $899 PS5 Pro Has No Disc Drive; the $649 PS5 Does
The $599 Digital Edition drops the drive and has 825GB, not 1TB. The Pro adds AI upscaling, a bigger GPU, 2TB and Wi-Fi 7.
If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Sony’s PS5 and PS5 Digital Edition differ on its store pages in two lines: the PS5 has a disc drive and 1TB of storage, the Digital Edition has no drive and 825GB, at $649 and $599 on PlayStation Direct. The $899 PS5 Pro is where the hardware changes — a larger GPU, PSSR AI upscaling, 2TB and Wi-Fi 7 — and like the Digital Edition, it has no disc drive.
All three prices are as PlayStation Direct listed them on 9 October 2026. The Pro was marked “Currently Unavailable” there that day.
The three consoles
| PS5 (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | PS5 Digital Edition (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | PS5 Pro (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| PlayStation Direct, 9 Oct 2026 | $649 | $599 | $899 (marked unavailable) |
| Disc drive | Built in | None; $79 add-on | None; $79 add-on |
| Storage | 1TB | 825GB | 2TB |
| AI upscaling | QSSR, in games patched for it | QSSR, in games patched for it | PSSR, plus a system setting for it |
| Wi-Fi standard on Sony’s page | Not stated | Not stated | Wi-Fi 7 |
| Model group Sony states | CFI-2100 (slim) | CFI-2100 (slim) | Not stated on the Direct page |
Direct’s feature lists and box contents for the PS5 and Digital Edition are identical apart from the storage line. Both list 120fps at 120Hz output, ray tracing, 4K and HDR, and both ship with a DualSense controller and Astro’s Playroom pre-installed. One small difference in the box: Direct’s list for the Pro has no USB cable, which the other two include.
Direct also sells a Digital Edition bundle, the Marvel’s Wolverine Battle Yellow Limited Edition, at $649, and certified refurbished slim consoles at $499 (Digital Edition) and $549 (with disc drive).
What the Pro changes
Sony’s announcement of the Pro in September 2024 gave three numbers for the graphics hardware: a GPU with “67% more Compute Units than the current PS5 console and 28% faster memory”, for “up to 45% faster rendering”. It said ray tracing runs at “double, and at times triple” the speed of the PS5.
The bigger headline is PSSR, Sony’s AI upscaler, which the Pro page describes as “AI-enhanced resolution” for a 4K TV. The base PS5 now has a lighter version, QSSR, but only in games patched to use it; we set out which games and how it compares in Sony’s AI upscaling on the base PS5. The Pro also has an Enhance PSSR Image Quality setting that applies the newer model to games built for the original PSSR.
Each of these gains depends on the game. Sony’s footnote on the Pro page says the features are available only in “select PS5 games that have been enhanced for PS5 Pro”, and lists over 100 of them. A game without a Pro patch gets the Pro’s Game Boost, which Sony says “may stabilize or improve” performance, not the full set.
The other two changes need no patch: 2TB of built-in storage, and Wi-Fi 7, which the Pro page says needs a compatible router and also works with Wi-Fi 6 and Wi-Fi 5 routers. Sony’s current PS5 and Digital Edition pages state no Wi-Fi standard; its 2020 FAQ listed IEEE 802.11ax, Wi-Fi 6, for the launch console.
The disc drive, and who needs one
Sony sells one detachable drive, the Disc Drive for PS5 Digital Edition consoles (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab), at $79 on Direct. Its footnote says it is “only for PS5® Pro consoles and PS5 Digital Edition consoles (CFI-2000 model group - slim & CFI-2100 model group – slim)”. The 2020 launch Digital Edition, which is the CFI-1000 group, is not on that list. The drive plays 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD, and needs an internet connection once, to pair with the console at setup.
So the arithmetic, at Direct’s prices: a Digital Edition plus the drive is $678, $29 more than the PS5 that has one built in, and with 825GB rather than 1TB. A Pro with the drive is $978.
Two Sony statements bear on whether you need it at all:
- New games go digital-only from January 2028. Sony’s 1 July post says disc production “for all new games releasing on PlayStation consoles will be discontinued starting January 2028”, with no effect on games released on disc before then.
- PS4 disc upgrades need a drive. Sony’s PS5 page says that to upgrade eligible PS4 disc games to their PS5 versions, “you need a PS5™ console with a disc drive”.
If you own a shelf of PS4 or PS5 discs, or watch films on Blu-ray, the drive still has a job after 2028. If you buy everything from PlayStation Store, the Digital Edition saves $50 against the disc model.
Model numbers
Direct’s pages name the CFI-2100 model group for both the PS5 and the Digital Edition, and say it takes accessories made for the CFI-2000 group, including console covers and the disc drive. The Pro’s Direct page states no model number. In November, that number is what a retailer’s price match checks, as we explained in why the model number decides the comparison.
How the prices got here
Sony has raised US console prices twice in eight months. In August 2025 the PS5 went to $549.99, the Digital Edition to $499.99 and the Pro to $749.99. From 2 April 2026, Sony’s recommended prices became $649.99, $599.99 and $899.99. The Pro launched at $699.99 in 2024.
Direct’s prices on 9 October were 99 cents below those recommended prices. The cost does not stop at the box: online play needs PlayStation Plus on any of the three, and what a console costs after you buy it sets that out against Xbox and Switch 2.
Questions people ask
What is the difference between the PS5 and the PS5 Digital Edition?
On Sony’s own store pages, two things: the PS5 has a built-in disc drive and 1TB of storage, and the Digital Edition has no drive and 825GB. Their other listed features match. On 9 October 2026 PlayStation Direct listed them at $649 and $599.
Does the PS5 Pro come with a disc drive?
No. Sony sells the PS5 Pro as a disc-free console. Its Disc Drive for PS5 Digital Edition consoles also fits the Pro, and PlayStation Direct listed it at $79 on 9 October 2026, which takes a Pro with a drive to $978.
How much is a PS5 right now in the US?
PlayStation Direct listed the PS5 at $649, the PS5 Digital Edition at $599 and the PS5 Pro at $899 on 9 October 2026. Sony’s 27 March 2026 post gives recommended prices of $649.99, $599.99 and $899.99 from 2 April.
Can I add a disc drive to a PS5 Digital Edition later?
Yes, on the slim models. Sony’s $79 drive is for Digital Editions in the CFI-2000 and CFI-2100 model groups and for the PS5 Pro. It needs an internet connection once, to pair with the console at setup.
What does the PS5 Pro do that the PS5 does not?
Sony lists a GPU with 67% more compute units, faster ray tracing, PSSR AI upscaling, 2TB of storage and Wi-Fi 7. The graphics gains apply to games enhanced for the Pro; Sony lists over 100, and says the enhancements vary by game.
Is the PS5 Digital Edition worth it if games are going digital?
That depends on the discs you already own. Sony says new games will be digital-only from January 2028, but discs of earlier games keep working. A drive also plays 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD films.
How we researched this
No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.
- What this cannot tell you
- PlayStation Direct shows prices ending in .00, while Sony’s March 2026 post gives recommended prices ending in .99; we report both and cannot say which a given retailer uses. The Pro was marked “Currently Unavailable” on Direct when read, and stock changes daily. Sony’s current pages do not state the Wi-Fi standard of the PS5 or Digital Edition, or a model number for the Pro, so this page gives neither. We have not used any of these consoles, and this page does not rank them or judge their games.
How we chose this, and what we did
- Why this subject
- “ps5” was the top query in the buying category of our 4 October trends digest, heading into Black Friday, and Sony now sells three PS5 consoles in the US under names that do not say which has a disc drive. Our existing PS5 posts cover the base console’s new AI upscaling and what a console costs to run; none sets the three models side by side with Sony’s own prices.
- How we looked at it
- Read through a browser on 9 October 2026: PlayStation Direct’s US console listing and its product pages for the PS5 (1TB), the PS5 Digital Edition (825GB), the PS5 Pro (2TB) and the Disc Drive for PS5 Digital Edition consoles, including their feature lists, box contents and footnotes; playstation.com’s PS5, PS5 Pro and accessories pages, with collapsed FAQ text; and PlayStation Blog posts on the US price changes of 20 August 2025 and 27 March 2026, the PS5 Pro announcement of 10 September 2024, the end of disc production of 1 July 2026, and the PS5 FAQ of 9 November 2020. The two non-Pro Direct pages were compared line by line: their feature lists and box contents differ only in storage. For the absence of a Wi-Fi standard on the current PS5 pages, the control was the Pro’s Direct page, which lists “next level online wireless connectivity” in the same feature list, and the Pro’s playstation.com page, which names Wi-Fi 7.
What this rests on
6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.
PlayStation Direct lists the PS5 (1TB) at $649.00, the PS5 Digital Edition (825GB) at $599.00 and the PS5 Pro (2TB) at $899.00.Official
PlayStation Direct’s US console listing, read 9 October 2026: “PlayStation®5 Pro Console - 2 TB $899.00 Currently Unavailable”, “PlayStation®5 Digital Edition Console - 825 GB $599.00”, “PlayStation®5 Console - 1 TB $649.00”. Sony’s 27 March 2026 post gives US recommended prices of $649.99, $599.99 and $899.99 from 2 April 2026.
The PS5 has a disc drive and 1TB; the Digital Edition has no disc drive and 825GB; both are the CFI-2100 model group.Official
PS5 Direct page: “This console has a disc drive” and “*PS5® console (CFI-2100 model group – slim).” Digital Edition Direct page: “DISC-FREE CONSOLE… Disc Drive and Vertical Stand sold separately” and “*PS5® Digital Edition (CFI-2100 model group – slim).”
The PS5 Pro is sold without a disc drive; Sony’s $79 Disc Drive works with the Pro and with slim Digital Editions.Official
PS5 Pro Direct page: “DISC-FREE CONSOLE… Disc Drive and Vertical Stand sold separately.” Disc Drive Direct page, $79.00: “This product is only for PS5® Pro consoles and PS5 Digital Edition consoles (CFI-2000 model group - slim & CFI-2100 model group – slim).”
Sony says the PS5 Pro’s GPU has 67% more compute units and 28% faster memory than the PS5, for up to 45% faster rendering.Official
PlayStation.Blog, 10 September 2024: “we are upgrading to a GPU that has 67% more Compute Units than the current PS5 console and 28% faster memory. Overall, this enables up to 45% faster rendering for gameplay.”
The PS5 Pro has 2TB of storage and supports Wi-Fi 7.Official
PS5 Pro page on playstation.com: “2TB of SSD storage built-in” and “PS5 Pro supports Wi-Fi 7”, with the footnote that it is also compatible with Wi-Fi 6 and Wi-Fi 5 routers.
From January 2028, new PlayStation games will be released in digital formats only; discs of earlier games are unaffected.Official
PlayStation.Blog, 1 July 2026: “physical game disc production for all new games releasing on PlayStation consoles will be discontinued starting January 2028… This transition has no impact on games that already released, or will be releasing, prior to January 2028 in disc format.”
Sources 13
- Shop PS5 consoles and bundles — PlayStation Direct (US)Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PlayStation 5 Console – 1 TB — PlayStation Direct (US)Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PlayStation 5 Digital Edition Console – 825 GB — PlayStation Direct (US)Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PlayStation 5 Pro Console – 2 TB — PlayStation Direct (US)Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
Show 9 more · 9 official or standards
- Disc Drive for PS5 Digital Edition Consoles — PlayStation Direct (US)Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PlayStation 5 — PlayStationOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PlayStation 5 Pro — PlayStationOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PS5 accessories — PlayStationOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- New Price Changes for PS5, PS5 Pro, and PlayStation Portal remote player — PlayStation.Blog, 27 March 2026Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PlayStation 5 price changes in the U.S. — PlayStation.Blog, 20 August 2025Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- Welcome PlayStation 5 Pro, the most visually impressive way to play games on PlayStation — PlayStation.Blog, 10 September 2024Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- Physical disc production ending in January 2028 for new games releasing on PlayStation consoles — PlayStation.Blog, 1 July 2026Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
- PS5: The Ultimate FAQ — PlayStation.Blog, 9 November 2020Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
Pass it on
Know someone weighing this up? Send them the answer.
bitcritiq.com/are4The link is permanent: it opens this article for good, even if the title changes.
No email, no account
Follow bitcritiq
Every new article, in whatever reader you already use.
Subscribe by RSSAll the ways to follow
Using Chrome on Android? Open the browser menu and tap Follow. New articles then turn up in the Following tab in Discover.
read next
Switch 2 Needs microSD Express; Steam Deck Takes UHS-I
Asus’s Xbox Allys list UHS-II readers, the X20 an Express reader that also takes UHS-I, and Lenovo states 2TB for the Legion Go 2.
Switch Online Is $19.99 a Year; Expansion Pack Adds $30
The $49.99 tier adds N64, GBA, Virtual Boy and Genesis games and three DLC packs; GameCube games come only on Switch 2.
PS Plus: Essential for Online Play, Premium to Stream
Extra adds a catalog of hundreds of games for $134.99 a year; Premium adds classics and trials at $159.99. Essential is $79.99.
On Xbox, Day-One Games Need Ultimate; Online Play Is $9.99
PC Game Pass has day-one games at $13.99 but no cloud play, which from November is capped at 5, 10 or 15 hours a month by tier.