Matter Cameras Are Here, but Only SmartThings Lists Them
Of the four big platforms, Apple, Google and Amazon still leave cameras off their Matter lists. The standard added them in November 2025.
If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Matter has supported security cameras since version 1.5, released on 20 November 2025, and the Alliance that runs it has certified cameras from five makers. Of the four big smart home platforms, only SmartThings says it supports them; Apple, Google and Amazon’s own Matter pages leave cameras off their lists.
So a Matter camera bought today has one big platform that says it will take it, and three that have not said so. Google says as much in general terms: “All Matter-certified smart home platforms and apps update to support different Matter-enabled device types and categories at different times.”
What each platform says
| Platform | Matter cameras, per its own page | Control: what the same page does list |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Home | Not stated. The list of supported Matter accessories has no cameras | Locks, lights, sensors, thermostats |
| Google Home | Not stated. Unlisted types “are not officially supported” | Door Lock, Doorbell, Chime |
| Amazon Alexa | Not stated, though Echo “now support[s] the Matter 1.5 protocol” | Door locks, sensors, robotic vacuums |
| SmartThings | Supported, announced 18 December 2025 | — |
Apple is the plainest. Support article 102135, published in May 2026, says the Home app “currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors”. Nothing on that page mentions cameras.
Google publishes a table of Matter device types for Google Home with the warning that “device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported”, and its Help Center sends readers to that table. It lists a doorbell and a chime, and no camera. The page says it was last updated in December 2024, so it may lag what Google Home actually accepts.
Amazon is the one to read carefully. Echo devices support the Matter 1.5 protocol, which is the version that added cameras, but Alexa’s list of supported Matter categories leaves cameras out. Running the version is not the same as supporting every device type in it.
SmartThings announced in December 2025 that it was “the first global smart home platform to support Matter-compatible cameras as a fully supported device category”. Samsung’s feature list includes live streaming, clip storage, two-way talk, motion detection, event history, and motion and privacy zones. The features run through four hubs: the Aeotec Smart Home Hub 2, Aeotec Smart Home Hub, SmartThings Hub 2018 and ThingsOne Smart Home Hub, with the SmartThings Hub 2015 promised an update during 2026.
What a Matter camera can do
The Alliance’s Matter 1.5 release describes live video and audio “using established WebRTC technology”, two-way communication, local and remote access, multi-stream configurations, pan-tilt-zoom, detection and privacy zones, and “continuous or event-based recording to local or cloud destinations”. Matter 1.5.1, in March 2026, added more efficient multi-stream delivery, HEIC snapshots and refinements to doorbells, chimes and intercoms.
What the standard does not do is replace the maker’s app. The Alliance says Matter lets makers build cameras “without limiting their ability to innovate through their own apps and services”, and nothing in its description rules out a maker’s subscription, the cost that dominates what a video doorbell costs after you buy it. Our sources describe what Matter allows, not what any maker charges.
Matter 1.6, released in June 2026, added no new device categories. The Alliance’s own note on it applies to cameras too: “the path from specification to products in users’ hands will vary by company and product type.”
Which certified Matter cameras exist
The Alliance’s certified-products database lets you filter by device type. Set to Camera and the Matter programme on 5 October 2026, it returned products from five makers, plus five test listings from the Alliance itself:
| Product, as the Alliance lists it | Maker | Matter version | Certified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eve Cam (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | Eve Systems | 1.5.1 | 19 Aug 2026 |
| Aqara Camera Hub | Aqara (Lumi United) | 1.5 | 10 Aug 2026 |
| Aqara Camera Hub G350 (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | Aqara (Lumi United) | 1.5 | 10 Feb 2026 |
| Ulticam Smart Security Camera | Xthings | 1.5 | 19 Mar 2026 |
| Tapo Security Camera (C260 family) (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | TP-Link | 1.5.1 | 29 Jun 2026 |
| Smart Home Camera | EZVIZ | 1.5.1 | 11 Jun 2026 |
Aqara’s Camera Hub appears 36 times, each with its own certificate ID, and all 36 are dated 10 August 2026 on Matter 1.5. Xthings’ certificate describes its camera as the Ulticam IQ V2. TP-Link holds three certificates in the C260 family, and only one of them states a specification version. Eve, Aqara and Xthings are the three makers Samsung named as its camera partners in December 2025.
What to look for on the box
The Matter logo on a camera box does not prove the video works over Matter. Aqara’s Camera Hub G5 holds a Matter certificate, but it is for Matter 1.2, which predates cameras in the standard, and the G5 does not appear under the Camera filter. Its listing describes “built-in hub functionality”. An outdoor camera from Shenzhen Apical was certified in December 2025 on Matter 1.4.2, also before cameras, and is likewise absent from the Camera filter. Both are genuinely Matter certified; neither is listed as a Matter camera.
Before buying, check three things:
- The certificate. Search the product in the Alliance’s certified-products database and open its page. Primary device type should be listed under Camera, and Specification Version should read 1.5 or later.
- Your platform’s own list. Today that means SmartThings, through one of the four hubs Samsung names. On Apple, Google or Amazon, assume it is not supported until their page says otherwise.
- The maker’s app and plan. Matter does not remove them, and they decide what the camera does beyond live view.
If the protocols themselves are the confusing part, Matter, Thread and Zigbee are not three competing standards explains which layer each one is. The Alliance says Matter cameras offer local access, which matters for why a smart home stops working when the internet drops, though none of the platform pages we read says how a Matter camera behaves offline.
Questions people ask
Do security cameras work with Matter?
Some do. Matter 1.5, released in November 2025, added cameras, and the Alliance has certified Matter cameras from Eve, Aqara, Xthings, TP-Link and EZVIZ. Whether one shows up in your app depends on the platform: of the big four, only SmartThings says it supports them.
Does Apple Home support Matter cameras?
Not according to Apple. Its support page lists the Matter accessory types the Home app supports — air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors — and cameras are not among them. The page was published in May 2026.
Does Google Home support Matter cameras?
Google’s own table of supported Matter device types lists no camera, and Google says types not on the list are not officially supported. Its Help Center adds that every platform supports new Matter device types at different times.
Does Alexa support Matter cameras?
Amazon’s list of supported Matter categories for Alexa does not include cameras. Amazon says Echo devices support the Matter 1.5 protocol, but supporting the protocol version and supporting the camera device type are different things, and only the first is stated.
Which Matter version added cameras?
Matter 1.5, released by the Connectivity Standards Alliance on 20 November 2025. Matter 1.5.1, in March 2026, refined camera streaming and doorbells. Matter 1.6, in June 2026, added no new device categories.
How do I know a camera is really a Matter camera?
Look it up in the Alliance’s certified-products search with Device Type set to Camera, and check the specification version on its certificate is 1.5 or later. A Matter logo alone is not enough: some cameras carry a Matter certificate from an older version for other functions.
How we researched this
No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.
- What this cannot tell you
- We have not set up a Matter camera on any platform, so this reports what each company states, not what works. Absence from a list is not proof that a camera will fail to pair: Apple, Google and Amazon may support more than their pages say, and Google's table carries a last-updated stamp of 20 December 2024. Samsung's December 2025 pages announce camera support and a rollout; we did not find a later SmartThings page confirming that every listed hub has it. The certified-products count is what the Alliance's filter returned on 5 October 2026, and a product sold under another name, or certified under a variant, may be missed. The Alliance states that it has not verified product availability, so a certificate does not mean a camera is on sale in your country.
How we chose this, and what we did
- Why this subject
- Cameras were the device type most often missing from Matter, and the Connectivity Standards Alliance added them in Matter 1.5 in November 2025. Certified Matter cameras now exist, so the buyer's question has moved from whether the standard covers cameras to whether the app they already use will show one. Our Matter, Thread and Zigbee explainer covers the protocols in general and says nothing about cameras.
- How we looked at it
- The standard's side is from the Alliance's own press releases for Matter 1.5, 1.5.1 and 1.6, and from its certified-products database, filtered to the Camera device type and the Matter programme and read page by page, with each product's certificate page opened for its specification version and date. Each platform's position is from its own pages: Apple Support 102135, Google's Matter supported-device-types table for developers and Google Home Help 13127223, Amazon's Alexa developer pages on supported Matter categories and on what is new, and Samsung's SmartThings blog post and newsroom release of December 2025. For each platform that does not mention cameras we recorded a device type the same page does list, as a control. All read through a browser on 5 October 2026.
What this rests on
6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.
Matter 1.5, released on 20 November 2025, added cameras to the standard, with live video and audio over WebRTC.Official
CSA, 20 November 2025: “Matter 1.5 introduces one of the most anticipated additions to the specification: cameras. Developers can now build and certify cameras that interoperate directly with Matter-enabled ecosystems” and “Matter cameras support live video and audio streaming using established WebRTC technology.” The 1.5.1 release adds: “Matter 1.5 introduced support for cameras and video doorbells.”
Apple's list of Matter accessory types the Home app supports does not include cameras.Official
Apple Support 102135 (published 7 May 2026): “The Home app currently supports these types of Matter accessories: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity).”
Google's table of Matter device types supported in Google Home lists no camera, and Google says unlisted types are not officially supported.Official
Google Home Developers, Matter supported device types: “Device types other than the ones listed here are not officially supported in the Google Home ecosystem.” The table lists Door Lock, Doorbell and Chime, and no Camera.
Amazon's list of supported Matter device categories for Alexa does not include cameras, although Echo devices support the Matter 1.5 protocol.Official
Alexa developer documentation: “Alexa supports many device types from the following Matter device categories: Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices (door locks, window coverings), thermostats, fans, air purifiers, appliances (room air conditioners, dishwashers), and robotic vacuums.” What's New, March 2026: “Matter-enabled Echo devices now support the Matter 1.5 protocol.”
SmartThings announced support for Matter cameras in December 2025, through four named hubs.Official
SmartThings blog, 18 December 2025: SmartThings is “the first global smart home platform to support Matter-compatible cameras as a fully supported device category”, with features “accessible directly through SmartThings Hubs (Aeotec Smart Home Hub 2, Aeotec Smart Home Hub, SmartThings Hub 2018, and the ThingsOne Smart Home Hub) at initial launch, with updates to come in 2026 to SmartThings Hub 2015”.
Matter cameras from Eve, Aqara, Xthings, TP-Link and EZVIZ appear in the Alliance's certified-products database under the Camera device type.Official
CSA Certified Products Search, Device Type Camera, Program Type Matter, read 5 October 2026: Eve Cam (Specification Version 1.5.1, certified 08/19/2026); Aqara Camera Hub (1.5, 08/10/2026, 36 certificates); Aqara Camera Hub G350 (1.5, 02/10/2026); Ulticam Smart Security Camera by Xthings, described on its certificate as “The Ulticam IQ V2 Smart Matter Camera” (1.5, 03/19/2026); Tapo Security Camera, family SKU Tapo C260 (1.5.1, 06/29/2026); EZVIZ Smart Home Camera (1.5.1, 06/11/2026).
Sources 16
- Matter 1.5 Introduces Cameras, Closures, and Enhanced Energy Management Capabilities — Connectivity Standards Alliance, 20 November 2025Officialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Matter 1.5.1: Enhancing Camera Performance and Expanding Device Flexibility — Connectivity Standards Alliance, 31 March 2026Officialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Matter 1.6 Enables More Intuitive Setup, Multi-Ecosystem Experiences, and Context-Driven Control — Connectivity Standards Alliance, 17 June 2026Officialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Certified Products Search, Device Type: Camera, Program Type: Matter — Connectivity Standards AllianceOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
Show 12 more · 12 official or standards
- Eve Cam — Connectivity Standards Alliance certified productOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Ulticam Smart Security Camera — Connectivity Standards Alliance certified productOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Tapo Security Camera — Connectivity Standards Alliance certified productOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Camera Hub G5 — Connectivity Standards Alliance certified productOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Outdoor Camera (Shenzhen Apical) — Connectivity Standards Alliance certified productOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Pair and manage your Matter accessories — Apple Support 102135Officialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Supported device types (Matter) — Google Home DevelopersOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Set up, manage and control Matter-enabled devices with Google Home — Google Home Help 13127223Officialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Alexa Supported Matter Device Categories and Clusters — Amazon Alexa developer documentationOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- What's New in Alexa-Enabled Smart Home — Amazon Alexa developer documentationOfficialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- SmartThings Expands Camera Support with Introduction of Matter 1.5 — SmartThings blog, 18 December 2025Officialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
- Samsung SmartThings Becomes the Industry's First To Support Matter Cameras — Samsung Newsroom, 19 December 2025Officialaccessed Oct 5, 2026
Pass it on
Know someone weighing this up? Send them the answer.
bitcritiq.com/62kzThe link is permanent: it opens this article for good, even if the title changes.
No email, no account
Follow bitcritiq
Every new article, in whatever reader you already use.
Subscribe by RSSAll the ways to follow
Using Chrome on Android? Open the browser menu and tap Follow. New articles then turn up in the Following tab in Discover.
read next
Ecobee and Honeywell Need a C-Wire; Nest Often Doesn’t
Each maker has a fix for homes without the wire, and each sends you to its own compatibility checker before you buy.
Apple Home Needs an iPhone; Google and Alexa Run on Both
All three add Matter and Thread devices. They differ in which hub you need, which assistant answers and what camera video history costs.
Extender for One Dead Room, Mesh for a Whole House
An extender repeats your router from one plug; mesh runs several nodes as one network. How the nodes link sets the speed.
Four Router Makers Set an Update Term; Asus, Linksys Don’t
eero and Google guarantee five years at minimum; Netgear and TP-Link stop about three years after a model leaves sale.