Services

What a Free VPN Limits: Data, Countries, Devices

Proton has no data cap but one device and 10 countries; TunnelBear gives 2GB a month. Six free plans, each from its maker’s own pages.

What each free VPN plan limits, from the makers’ own pages, read 7 October 2026. Proton VPN Free: no data cap, 10 countries, 1 device. Windscribe Free: 10GB a month with an email, 10 countries, unlimited devices. TunnelBear Free: 2GB a month, choosing a country is a paid feature, devices not stated. hide.me Free: no data cap, 8 locations, 1 device. PrivadoVPN Free: 10GB per 30 days then 1 Mbps, 12 or 13 locations, 1 device at a time. Cloudflare WARP keeps your approximate location: it does not change your country.
Illustration: bitcritiq
Reading mode

If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

A free VPN from a reputable maker usually limits one of three things: how much data you can use, how many countries you can connect through, or how many devices you can connect at once. Proton VPN and hide.me drop the data cap but allow one device and a short list of locations; Windscribe, TunnelBear and PrivadoVPN cap your data instead.

Everything below is from each maker’s own pages, read on 7 October 2026. This is not a ranking, and we have not used any of these plans.

The free plans side by side

Free plan Data Locations Devices Streaming / P2P Ads
Proton VPN Free No data limit 10 countries, server chosen for you 1 at a time Both listed as paid features None, says Proton
Windscribe Free 2GB a month; 10GB with a confirmed email 10 countries Unlimited Not stated No ad networks, says Windscribe
TunnelBear Free 2GB a month (10GB in selected censored countries) Country selection listed under the paid plan Not stated for Free Streaming may be blocked on any plan Not stated
hide.me Free Unlimited 8 locations 1 connection Streaming servers are Premium-only None, says hide.me
PrivadoVPN Free 10GB every 30 days, then 1 Mbps 12 cities or 13 locations (its pages differ) 1 connection at a time Streaming support listed under Premium Ad-free, says PrivadoVPN
Cloudflare WARP Not stated Does not change your country Not stated Location-licensed streaming may not work Not stated

Where each plan draws its line

Proton VPN Free is unlimited on data and time, and Proton chooses the server: its free servers are in 10 countries, and you cannot pick among them. Its support page says each change of server lands you somewhere random, with a 45-second wait after the first change and 10 minutes after each one after that. The free plan covers one device; P2P, streaming and Proton’s ad blocker sit on the paid side of the comparison table.

Windscribe gives 2GB a month to an account without an email address and 10GB once you confirm one. Its free countries are the US, Canada, the UK, Hong Kong, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Norway and Romania, and it allows unlimited devices on a free account. Windscribe says free users run on a shared pool of free servers but are not throttled.

TunnelBear gives 2GB a month, resetting on the anniversary of sign-up, and unused data does not carry over. TunnelBear itself describes the free plan as best used for testing. Users in some countries facing internet censorship get 10GB instead. Its pricing page lists country selection among the paid plan’s features and not the free one’s.

hide.me states no data cap, but its pricing page lists “Restricted speeds” for the free plan alongside 8 locations and one connection. Its streaming-optimised servers are for Premium users.

PrivadoVPN gives 10GB every 30 days. Its support article says that after the allowance runs out, your speed is limited to 1 Mbps until the next renewal — slow, but still connected. You can install the app on any number of devices, with one connected at a time.

Speed is a limit too

The five VPNs do not agree on whether free users get paid-tier speed:

Free plan What the maker says about speed
Proton VPN “Medium” on its pricing table, against “Highest” for paid plans
hide.me “Restricted speeds”
Windscribe Not throttled; free users share a separate server pool
TunnelBear “The same performance levels” as paid plans
PrivadoVPN 1 Mbps once the 10GB is used

Proton’s own pages pull in two directions here: the free-VPN page promises no speed limits, while the pricing table rates Free as medium. A fixed list of locations also matters for speed, because distance to the server is usually the biggest cost of any VPN connection, and a free plan may not have a server near you.

Cloudflare WARP is a different kind of product

Cloudflare’s free 1.1.1.1 with WARP app encrypts your traffic, but its FAQ says WARP replaces your IP address with one that “consistently and accurately represents your approximate location”. WARP will not make you appear to be in another country, which is often what people want from a VPN. Cloudflare also warns that apps relying on location for content licensing, such as some streaming services, may not work through it. The 1.1.1.1 app without WARP secures only your DNS lookups, and Cloudflare answers “Is the 1.1.1.1 app a VPN?” with “No.”

What “free” costs in privacy

The worry about free VPNs is that the user pays with their data. Here is what each of these makers says about its own free tier:

  • Proton: the free service “is supported by paying users”, with no ads and no activity logs.
  • Windscribe: paying Pro users cover the costs, and a free account stores your username, a hashed password, your email if you gave one, total bandwidth used this period and your last-activity time.
  • TunnelBear: “we make 100% of our revenue from paid subscriptions”.
  • hide.me: funded by Premium users, with no ads.
  • Cloudflare: “We won’t sell your data, ever.”

These are the makers’ own claims, which we have not audited. What they do give you is a test for any free VPN not listed here: if its site does not say who pays for the servers, that is worth noticing.

If you outgrow a free plan, check what the paid plan renews at, not just the introductory rate. Proton and PrivadoVPN both list a kill switch among their free features; how a VPN kill switch actually behaves varies more than the label suggests.

Questions people ask

What is the catch with a free VPN?

Among the reputable makers, it is a limit rather than a hidden cost. Windscribe, TunnelBear and PrivadoVPN cap monthly data; Proton VPN and hide.me drop the cap but allow one device and a short list of locations. Proton and hide.me also rate free speeds below paid ones.

Which free VPN has no data limit?

Of the plans we read, Proton VPN Free and hide.me Free both state unlimited data. Both allow one device at a time, Proton picks your server from 10 countries, and hide.me offers 8 locations with what its pricing page calls restricted speeds.

Can I watch Netflix with a free VPN?

Proton lists streaming as a paid feature, and hide.me says its streaming-optimised servers are for Premium users only. TunnelBear says streaming services often block VPN traffic on any plan, and Cloudflare says location-licensed streaming may not work through WARP.

Is Cloudflare WARP a free VPN?

It encrypts your traffic, but Cloudflare says WARP gives you an IP address that represents your approximate location, so it will not make you appear in another country. Its 1.1.1.1 app on its own only secures DNS, and Cloudflare says plainly that it is not a VPN.

How many devices can I use on a free VPN?

Proton VPN Free, hide.me Free and PrivadoVPN Free allow one connection at a time; PrivadoVPN lets you install it on as many devices as you like. Windscribe’s free plan allows unlimited devices. TunnelBear does not state a device limit for its free plan specifically.

Is a free VPN safe for privacy?

That depends on who pays for it. Proton, Windscribe, TunnelBear and hide.me each say their free tier is funded by paying users rather than ads or data sales, and Windscribe publishes what it stores on a free account. Those are the makers’ own claims; we have not audited them.

How we researched this

No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.

What this cannot tell you
We have not used these plans, measured their speeds or audited their logging claims; every privacy statement here is the maker’s own. Two makers contradict themselves: PrivadoVPN’s free page says 13 free locations and unlimited devices while its support article says 12 cities and one connection at a time, and Proton’s free page says no artificial speed limits while its pricing table rates Free as “Medium” speed. TunnelBear’s pricing page lists unlimited devices under its paid plan only, while its FAQ says there is no device limit without naming a plan, so we leave that cell unstated. Cloudflare does not state a data allowance or device limit for free WARP. We searched the FTC’s consumer site for guidance on VPN apps and found none to cite. Plans change; this is one day’s reading.
How we chose this, and what we did
Why this subject
“Free vpn” and “best vpn free” were the top services queries in our 4 October Google Trends digest, and no bitcritiq post answered them. The searcher’s real question is what the catch is. That is answerable from the makers’ own plan pages without testing anything, so this lays the free tiers side by side and does not rank them.
How we looked at it
Every figure is from the maker’s own pages, read through a browser on 7 October 2026 from a US connection: Proton VPN’s free-VPN page, pricing page and support article on changing server on the Free plan; Windscribe’s pricing page (its server table, read by which rows carry a Free checkmark), its free-plan feature page and knowledge-base article; TunnelBear’s pricing page and three help-centre articles; hide.me’s free-VPN and pricing pages; PrivadoVPN’s free-VPN page and support article 875; Cloudflare’s 1.1.1.1 site, its 1.1.1.1 FAQ and its WARP client FAQ. Where a cell says “not stated”, the maker’s plan page was read in full and gave the plan’s other limits (the control) but not that one.

What this rests on

6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.

  • Proton VPN Free has no data limit, covers one device, and connects to servers in 10 countries chosen for you.Official

    Proton pricing page, Free plan: “Secure 1 device at a time”, “Connect to servers in 10 countries (randomly selected)”. Pricing FAQ: “a Free plan with no data limits”. Support: “We will randomly choose your next server… This cooldown period starts at 45 seconds for the first change, followed by 10-minute intervals for additional changes.”

  • Windscribe’s free plan gives 2GB a month, or 10GB once an email is confirmed, in 10 countries, on unlimited devices.Official

    Windscribe: “Give us an email and get 10 GB a month, or don’t and get 2 GB. Either way, it’s 10 country servers, unlimited devices on one account.”

  • TunnelBear’s free plan gives 2GB of data a month, with 10GB in selected censored countries.Official

    TunnelBear Help: “Our free TunnelBear accounts allow you to have access to 2GB of data per month… Unused data does not carry over.” Bandwidth Program: “While we offer 2GB of free data worldwide, users in select countries receive 10GB every month.”

  • hide.me’s free plan has no data cap but restricted speeds, 8 locations and one connection.Official

    hide.me pricing, Free Plan: “Unlimited data, Restricted speeds, 8 Locations, 1 Connection, No Logs”.

  • PrivadoVPN’s free plan gives 10GB every 30 days, after which speed is limited to 1 Mbps.Official

    PrivadoVPN Support 875: “10GB Data Every 30-Days… After you use up your monthly quota, your connection speed will be limited to 1 Mbps until the next traffic renewal date… Servers in 12 Cities, 1 Connection at a time.”

  • Cloudflare WARP gives you an IP address that represents your approximate location, so it does not move you to another country.Official

    Cloudflare WARP FAQ: “1.1.1.1 + WARP replaces your original IP address with a Cloudflare IP that consistently and accurately represents your approximate location.” 1.1.1.1 FAQ, on the DNS-only app: “Is the 1.1.1.1 app a VPN? No.”

Sources 17

  1. Free VPN — Proton VPNOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  2. Pricing — Proton VPNOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  3. How to change server if you’re on the Proton VPN Free plan — Proton VPN SupportOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  4. Pricing and server locations — WindscribeOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
Show 13 more · 13 official or standards
  1. Get a Free VPN With Pro Features — WindscribeOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  2. Can I use Windscribe for Free? — Windscribe Knowledge BaseOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  3. Pricing — TunnelBearOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  4. What is the difference between a free and paid TunnelBear account? — TunnelBear HelpOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  5. TunnelBear’s Bandwidth Program — TunnelBear HelpOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  6. Why can’t I access Netflix/Hulu/Disney+ while TunnelBear is connected? — TunnelBear HelpOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  7. Free VPN — hide.meOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  8. Pricing — hide.meOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  9. Free VPN — PrivadoVPNOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  10. What is the difference between the free and paid VPN plans? — PrivadoVPN SupportOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  11. 1.1.1.1 with WARP — CloudflareOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  12. 1.1.1.1 FAQ — CloudflareOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
  13. WARP client FAQ — Cloudflare DocsOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026

Pass it on

Know someone weighing this up? Send them the answer.

bitcritiq.com/n4mv

The link is permanent: it opens this article for good, even if the title changes.

read next

Free airline Wi-Fi: who gets it, from each airline’s own pages, read 14 October 2026. Delta: SkyMiles members; presented by T-Mobile, on most flights. United: MileagePlus members, on Starlink planes; otherwise $8 for members and $10 for others. American: AAdvantage members; sponsored by AT&T, on most domestic flights. Southwest: Rapid Rewards members, thanks to T-Mobile; otherwise $8 where available. Alaska: Atmos Rewards members, Starlink on select flights, thanks to T-Mobile. Hawaiian: Atmos Rewards members, Starlink on flights to and from Hawaiʻi. JetBlue: anyone, after a short partner ad.
Services · Explainer

Free Airline Wi-Fi Needs a Loyalty Login, Except JetBlue

Delta, United, American, Southwest, Alaska and Hawaiian are free on equipped planes for members; JetBlue asks for a short ad.

Which Spotify plan includes what: US prices from Spotify’s Premium page, read 13 October 2026. Every Premium plan here has ad-free music and downloads. Individual, $12.99 a month: 1 account, 15 audiobook hours a month. Student, $6.99: 1 verified student account, no audiobook hours. Duo, $18.99: 2 accounts at the same address, 15 hours for the manager only. Family, $21.99: up to 6 accounts at the same address, 15 hours for the manager only. Premium streams lossless audio up to 24-bit/44.1 kHz. Free is ad-supported. Student includes Hulu (With Ads) for eligible college students.
Services · Explainer

Spotify Premium Is $12.99; Family Covers 6 for $21.99

Duo is $18.99 for two at one address and Student $6.99 with Hulu. Individual and plan managers get 15 audiobook hours a month.

What YouTube Premium Lite leaves out: US prices and features from YouTube’s own pages, read 13 October 2026. Premium Lite, $8.99 a month; Premium, $15.99 a month. Ad-free videos: most on Lite, all on Premium. Background play and downloads: most on Lite, all on Premium. YouTube Music Premium: no on Lite, yes on Premium. Jump ahead, queuing and continue watching: no on Lite, yes on Premium. “Most” excludes music content and Shorts; Lite may still show ads in search and browse. Also in the US: Premium Family $26.99, Student $8.99, annual $159.99.
Services · Explainer

YouTube Premium Lite Keeps Ads on Music and Shorts

At $8.99 a month against $15.99, Lite also leaves out the YouTube Music app and downloads or background play for songs.

Apple One against its parts bought alone: US prices from Apple’s Apple One page, 13 October 2026; differences are our arithmetic. Individual, $21.95 a month: Music, TV and Arcade, iCloud+ 50GB; $34.96 separately; $13.01 a month less. Family, $27.95: the same three services, iCloud+ 200GB, for six people; $44.96 separately; $17.01 a month less. Premier, $39.95: adds News+ and Fitness+, iCloud+ 2TB, for six people; $74.94 separately; $34.99 a month less. Separately means Apple’s own monthly price for each service in the plan.
Services · Explainer

Apple One Costs $13 to $35 a Month Less Than Its Parts

Individual $21.95: Music, TV, Arcade, 50GB. Family $27.95: the same with 200GB, for six. Premier $39.95 adds News+, Fitness+, 2TB.

Specifications