Buying

Open-Box at Best Buy Keeps Returns, Loses Price Match

Good and Fair grades are sold in store or for Store Pickup. Best Buy says the maker’s warranty comes “in many cases”.

Best Buy open-box against new: the three grades and what changes, from Best Buy’s pages read 9 October 2026. Excellent looks brand new, with all parts or a suitable replacement, sold in stores and online. Good has minor to moderate wear, and parts and box may be missing, sold in store or for Store Pickup. Fair has bigger scratches, dents or chips, with accessories commonly missing, sold in store or for Store Pickup. Return window: same as new. Price Match Guarantee: excluded. Manufacturer warranty: “in many cases”; check by model number.
Illustration: bitcritiq
Reading mode

If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Open-box at Best Buy keeps the same return window as new, but loses the Price Match Guarantee, and the manufacturer warranty is likely rather than certain. Every open-box item is graded Excellent, Good or Fair. Good and Fair are in-store or Store Pickup items; Excellent is the one grade Best Buy lists as sold “in Best Buy stores and online” without that limit.

Best Buy publishes no typical discount for any grade. It says the price reflects the condition, and that Fair, if you can live with visible flaws, brings “substantial savings”.

What the three grades mean

Grade Looks Box Parts and accessories Where sold
Excellent Brand new: no physical flaws, scratches or scuffs Original or a suitable replacement, but can be absent All original, or a suitable replacement Stores and online
Good Minor to moderate wear. Screen intact, no blemishes in the viewing area. No dents, chips, cracks or deep scratches Typically not present Might be missing Stores, or online for Store Pickup
Fair More significant scratches, dents or chips; works as intended Typically not included Commonly missing Stores, or online for Store Pickup

Each line is from Best Buy’s Outlet buying guide, read 9 October 2026. Best Buy says every open-box product was “tested or inspected to verify proper working order and physical appearance” before it was graded, and that most include all parts, with exceptions “noted as part of the product’s condition”.

Its Discover article on open-box words the grades a little differently. It lists the original packaging as part of Excellent, where the Outlet guide says an item “may still qualify for Excellent condition without packaging”. The guide is the more specific of the two, so plan on the box being optional at every grade.

The current pages use only those three names. A Geek Squad Certified Open-Box label appears on checklists Best Buy still hosts, but they are dated 2013.

What you give up against new

New Open-box
Return window 15 days for most products, 60 for Plus and Total members, 14 for activatable devices The same
Competitor price match Yes, with exclusions Excluded
Best Buy cutting its own price later Matched on request during the return period Outside the guarantee
Manufacturer warranty The maker’s terms The same “in many cases”
Owner’s manual, registration card In the box May not be
Geek Squad Protection, My Best Buy points Available Available

The return window does not shrink. Best Buy’s return policy says its periods apply “to new, clearance, open-box, refurbished and pre-owned products”, counted from the day you receive the item. A Black Friday open-box buy gets the same window as a new one, 15 days for most products, which is shorter than most people assume for a December gift.

The usual conditions still apply: Best Buy asks for items back in like-new condition with all accessories and packaging, and may deny a dented or scratched return or deduct for anything missing. The policy does not say how that applies to an item that arrived with Fair-grade dents, so keep the listing or price label that records the condition.

The price match goes entirely. The guarantee “covers new items sold from Best Buy”, and names open-box among the exclusions. That scope line sits above the clause in which Best Buy promises to match its own lower price during your return period, so the after-purchase price drop claim is not available on open-box either. It works the other way too: open-box prices are on the list Best Buy will not match “whether offered by us or a Qualified Competitor”, so an open-box listing cannot be used to bring down the price of a new one.

That changes the arithmetic close to Black Friday. If the new item is on sale for only a little more than the open-box one, the new one comes with the price protection and the open-box one does not.

The warranty is the part to check

Best Buy’s Outlet guide marks open-box as carrying a warranty. Its Discover article is more careful: open-box items come with the same manufacturer warranty as a new product “in many cases”, and it tells buyers to check whether one is included.

Two practical problems follow. The Outlet guide warns that an open-box item “may not include the owner’s manual or manufacturer registration card”, and Best Buy’s own warranty help page says that is usually where the warranty is written down. Its fallback is to search the manufacturer and model number online.

The other is when the clock starts. Best Buy’s current pages do not say whether the manufacturer’s warranty runs from your purchase or from the first buyer’s; that is the maker’s rule, not Best Buy’s. The 2013 Geek Squad checklist promised “the remainder of the manufacturer warranty”, which is the question to put to the maker, with your receipt in hand.

Geek Squad Protection can be bought on open-box items, at a store, an Outlet store or online. Whether it is worth it is the same test as for any plan offered at checkout: what it covers beyond the warranty the item already has, which on open-box is the thing you are least sure of.

Refurbished is a separate category at Best Buy, repaired rather than returned, with “a minimum 90-day warranty unless otherwise noted” on most products. Who stands behind a refurbished warranty is its own question, and it is covered here.

Another store, for comparison

Micro Center also gives open-box items the same return period as their new counterparts. Its windows differ from Best Buy’s: 15 days for laptops, desktops, tablets, phones and some other categories, 30 for everything else. It says open-box Ubiquiti products are covered by a 90-day warranty, separate from the return period.

Before you pay

  1. Read the condition notes. Best Buy says missing parts are noted as part of the condition, and in stores each open-box price label details appearance, parts and accessories. Check for the charger, remote or cable before you leave.
  2. Find the warranty by model number on the maker’s site, and keep the receipt.
  3. Compare against the new price on the day, sale included. Open-box gives up the price match, so a small gap favours new.
  4. Diarise the return date. It is the same as for new, and it runs from the day you receive the item.

Questions people ask

What does open-box Excellent mean at Best Buy?

Best Buy says an Excellent item looks brand new, with no physical flaws, scratches or scuffs, and includes all original parts and accessories or a suitable replacement. It should come in its original box or a replacement, though Best Buy says packaging can be absent.

What is the difference between open-box Good and Fair?

Good shows minor to moderate cosmetic wear, with any screen unblemished in the viewing area and no dents, chips, cracks or deep scratches. Fair has more significant scratches, dents or chips. Both usually lack the original box; Fair is more likely to be missing accessories.

Can you return open-box items to Best Buy?

Yes, on the same terms as new. Best Buy’s return policy names open-box products explicitly: 15 days for most products, 60 for My Best Buy Plus and Total members, 14 for phones and other activatable devices, counted from the day you receive it.

Does Best Buy price match open-box items?

No. The Price Match Guarantee covers new items and lists open-box among its exclusions. You also cannot use an open-box price, Best Buy’s or a competitor’s, to get a new item matched.

Do Best Buy open-box items have a manufacturer warranty?

Often, not always. Best Buy says they come with the same manufacturer warranty as new “in many cases” and tells buyers to check. Look the warranty up by model number, since the manual may be missing from the box.

Can I buy Geek Squad Protection on an open-box item?

Yes. Best Buy’s Outlet guide says Geek Squad Protection is available on open-box purchases online, at Outlet stores and in regular stores.

How we researched this

No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.

What this cannot tell you
Best Buy publishes no typical open-box discount, so this page gives none. Its two current pages describe the grades in slightly different words, noted below; the Outlet guide is the fuller one and is followed here. We have not bought an open-box item or made a return or price-match claim, so this describes the written policy, not how a store applies it. Whether an open-box product's manufacturer warranty runs from your purchase or the first buyer's is set by each manufacturer and is not stated by Best Buy. A Geek Squad Certified Open-Box checklist still on Best Buy's servers is dated 2013 and is quoted only as history.
How we chose this, and what we did
Why this subject
Best Buy is one of the most-searched retailers in our computing and audio trend pulls heading into Black Friday, and open-box is the cheaper version of almost everything it sells. Our existing coverage mentions open-box only as one line in a price-match exclusion. The reader's question is what each grade means and what the discount costs them in protection.
How we looked at it
Everything is from Best Buy's own pages, read through a browser on 9 October 2026: the Outlet buying guide (grade definitions, where each grade is sold, warranty and points table), the Return & Exchange Promise (effective 23 February 2026), the Price Match Guarantee (effective 2 September 2026), its Discover article on open-box deals, and its Manufacturer Warranty Information help page. Micro Center's return policy, read the same day, is the one comparison. For the statement that Best Buy's current pages do not say when the manufacturer warranty starts, the control is that both the Discover article and the Outlet guide do discuss open-box warranty coverage on the same page.

What this rests on

6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.

  • Best Buy assigns every open-box product one of three conditions: Excellent, Good or Fair.Official

    Outlet buying guide: “Each open-box product was tested or inspected to verify proper working order and physical appearance, and assigned a condition — Excellent, Good or Fair.”

  • Good and Fair open-box items are sold in Best Buy stores or online for Store Pickup.Official

    Outlet buying guide, on both grades: “can be found in Best Buy stores or online for Store Pickup (selection varies)”. Of Excellent: “can be found in Best Buy stores and online.”

  • Open-box purchases have the same return and exchange period as new ones.Official

    Return & Exchange Promise: “the time period begins the day you receive your product and applies to new, clearance, open-box, refurbished and pre-owned products.” Most products: 15 days, or 60 for My Best Buy Plus and Total members; activatable devices 14 days.

  • Best Buy's Price Match Guarantee covers new items and excludes open-box.Official

    Price Match Guarantee: “Our Price Match Guarantee covers new items sold from Best Buy (excludes Marketplace Products, clearance, refurbished and open-box items).” Its list of what it does not cover also names “open-box items … whether offered by us or a Qualified Competitor.”

  • Best Buy says open-box items come with the same manufacturer warranty as new in many cases, not all.Official

    Discover article: “In many cases, they come with the same manufacturer warranty as a new product.” It advises: “Check if the open-box item still includes a manufacturer or store warranty.”

  • An open-box item may arrive without its owner's manual or manufacturer registration card.Official

    Outlet buying guide, warranty disclaimer: “May not include the owner’s manual or manufacturer registration card.”

Sources 7

  1. Outlet Center Buying Guide — Best BuyOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
  2. Return & Exchange Promise — Best Buy (effective 23 February 2026)Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
  3. Price Match Guarantee — Best Buy (effective 2 September 2026)Officialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
  4. Finding the Best Deals on Open-Box Items at Best Buy — Best Buy DiscoverOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
Show 3 more · 3 official or standards
  1. Manufacturer Warranty Information — Best BuyOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
  2. Geek Squad Certified Open-Box Laptop checklist (2013) — Best BuyOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026
  3. What is the return policy? — Micro CenterOfficialaccessed Oct 9, 2026

Pass it on

Know someone weighing this up? Send them the answer.

bitcritiq.com/xq9g

The link is permanent: it opens this article for good, even if the title changes.

read next

Opened earbuds: what each store’s return policy says, read 14 October 2026. Apple, 14 days: no earbud exclusion; engraved AirPods can be returned for a refund but not exchanged in store. Samsung, 15 days: 5% restocking fee on Buds unless damaged or defective. Best Buy, 15 days: bars opened items that “interact with bodily fluids”. Target, 30 days: opened items “may be denied”; Apple and Beats 14 days. Walmart, 30 days: no earbud exclusion named. B&H, 30 days: if not new, boxed and complete, a minimum 15% fee. Sony, 30 days: may charge 15% on any product. Bose, 30 days: no earbud exclusion named. Costco, window not stated: headphones are not on its 90-day electronics list.
Buying · Explainer

Opened Earbuds Go Back at Most Stores. Best Buy Is Unclear

Best Buy bars opened items that “interact with bodily fluids” without saying if earbuds count. Samsung keeps 5% of a Buds refund.

Restocking fees on electronics returns, from each store’s own return policy read 9 October 2026. Best Buy: 15% on opened cameras, drones, projectors and some other categories, and 45 dollars on opened activatable devices. Newegg: 15% on opened hard drives, motherboards, graphics cards, projectors and TVs. Target: up to 35 dollars on opened phones. B&H: a minimum 15% if return conditions are not met. None listed: Walmart, Costco, Apple and Micro Center, on their own sales. Footnote: Best Buy, Target and Newegg charge no fee on unopened returns.
Buying · Explainer

Best Buy, Target, B&H and Newegg Can Charge Restocking Fees

Walmart, Costco, Apple and Micro Center list no fee on their own sales. Best Buy, Target and Newegg waive theirs if the box is unopened.

Who matches a Prime-only price? From each retailer’s own price-match policy, read 5 October 2026. Best Buy: no; Amazon is on its list, but prices only members get are excluded. Walmart: no; its stores match Walmart.com only, and Walmart.com matches no one. Target: no; it matches Target’s own prices only, within 14 days of purchase. Footnote: Best Buy still matches its own price drops during your return period, on request.
Buying · Explainer

Best Buy’s Price Match Excludes Prime-Only Deals

Amazon is on Best Buy’s competitor list, but member-only prices are not. Walmart and Target do not match Amazon at all.

Before and now, from the makers' own pages: US list prices, read 4 October 2026. Galaxy S26, 256GB: $899.99 to $999.99. iPhone 17: $799 to $899. iPhone Air: $999 to $1,099. Raspberry Pi 5, 2GB: $65 to $77.50. Shield TV Pro: $199.99 at launch to $299. A $100 discount on a Galaxy S26 or iPhone 17 gets back to the old price.
Buying · Explainer

Samsung and Apple Raised Phones $100 Before Black Friday

A $100 Black Friday cut on a Galaxy S26 only gets back to its summer price. Raspberry Pi and Nvidia put their rises down to memory.

Specifications