Ray-Ban Meta Gen 3 Costs $449; the Camera-Free Audio $349
Meta’s cheapest pair is now a $249 Meta Adventurer. Gen 3 adds an hour over Gen 2, and the Audio drops the camera for 12 hours a charge.
If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) starts at $449 with a 12 MP camera and up to 9 hours a charge; Ray-Ban Meta Audio starts at $349, has no camera at all, and runs up to 12 hours. If you want photos and video from your glasses, the Audio is out; if you only want music, calls and Meta AI by voice, it is $100 less and lasts three hours longer on Meta’s figures.
Below both sits the new floor: a Meta Adventurer with a plug-in case at $249, on sale 23 October. Every figure here is from Meta’s newsroom of 23 September and its US store, read on 7 October 2026.
The lineup, in Meta’s figures
| Model | Camera | Battery (glasses; case) | From (US list) | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | 12 MP, 3K video | Up to 9 h; 50 h more | $449 | On sale since 23 Sep |
| Ray-Ban Meta Audio | None | Up to 12 h; 48 h more | $349 | Pre-order; ships 13 Oct |
| Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 2) Wayfarer (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | 12 MP, 3K video | Up to 8 h; not stated | $379 | On sale |
| Meta Adventurer (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab), Capri, Nova | 12 MP, 3K video | Over 8 h; 40 h more | $249 (plug-in case), $299 | $249 version on sale 23 Oct |
| Oakley Meta HSTN (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | 12 MP, 3K video | Up to 8 h; 48 h more | $399 | On sale |
| Oakley Meta Vanguard (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) | 12 MP, 122° centred | Up to 9 h; 36 h more | $499 | On sale |
| Meta Ray-Ban Display | 12 MP, 1080p+ video; in-lens display | Up to 6 h; 24 h more | $799 | On sale; online ordering since 23 Sep |
| Meta VR Glasses | Passthrough camera; photo capture not stated | Up to 3 h of media playback | $1,299.99 | Spring 2027 |
Meta’s Gen 2 case figure did not appear on any page we read, so that cell says so. The $249 Adventurer’s battery is the one figure to treat with care: Meta quotes “over 8 hours” and 40 more from the case for the Adventurer, and does not say how a plug-in case changes that.
Gen 3 against Gen 2: an hour and a button
Meta’s own summary of Gen 3 is up to 9 hours a charge, “an hour more than Gen 2”, plus a slimmer frame, professionally adjustable temple tips, a 6-mic array it says cuts more than 90% of background noise, and a customisable action button. The camera is the same on paper: 12 MP, 3K video at 30 frames per second. Both have 32GB of storage, which Meta rates at more than 1,000 photos or over 100 30-second clips.
The price gap is $70 at the bottom of each range — $449 against $379 for the Gen 2 Wayfarer — and it widens with lenses: a Gen 3 Wayfarer with Transitions is $529. Gen 3 comes as Wayfarer, Aviator and Zena; Ray-Ban lists a limited-edition Aviator at $579.
The Audio: lighter, longer, no camera
Meta calls Ray-Ban Meta Audio its “first-ever audio glasses”, and its FAQ answers the camera question with one word: “No.” What remains is open-ear speakers, the same 6-mic array as Gen 3, an action button and Meta AI by voice. That means no photos, no video, and no asking Meta AI about what you are looking at.
In return Meta claims up to 12 hours a charge and 48 more from the case. The weight depends on the frame. Meta’s newsroom says “just 43 grams”, but its store lists the standard Burbank at 43.1g and the Clubmaster at 47.1g, against 51.5g for a standard Gen 3 Wayfarer.
The Audio comes in Clubmaster and Burbank, from $349; Transitions versions are $429 at Ray-Ban. For scale, Bose rates its Ultra Open Earbuds (2nd Gen) at up to 9 hours a charge, so Meta’s 12-hour claim is longer than those open-ear buds on paper. Meta also says the Audio only captures sound when you say “Hey Meta” or press the action button.
Meta Glasses: the cheaper range
Meta Glasses, the EssilorLuxottica range Meta launched earlier this year, carry the same 12 MP camera and 3K video as Gen 3, with “over 8 hours” a charge. Capri and Nova start at $299; the LISA editions and the new Ivory Kylie Jenner Starfire start at $399. The new black Meta Adventurer with a plug-in case is $249, which Meta calls its “most accessible price yet”.
Meta’s own pages disagree on the floor. The Meta Glasses page heads with “Starting at $249”, while its FAQ still says the range starts at $299, and the compare page and Meta’s newsroom both give $249. The $249 version is a pre-order until 23 October.
What else is still on sale
- Oakley Meta Vanguard ($499) has the widest camera, 122° and centred rather than off to the left, up to 9 hours, and no prescription lenses.
- Oakley Meta HSTN ($399) has the 12 MP camera and 3K video, up to 8 hours a charge and 48 more from the case.
- Meta Ray-Ban Display ($799) is the one with a screen, in the right lens, controlled with a wrist band. It gets up to 6 hours. Meta added online ordering in the US on 23 September and is selling it in Canada and the UK, with France, Italy and Germany from 13 October.
- Meta VR Glasses ($1,299.99) are a different product: a roughly 100-gram VR headset in glasses form, tethered to a pocket puck, due in spring 2027. Xreal’s Aura, also wired to a puck but with see-through lenses, is $1,279 and expected before the holidays.
Prescriptions narrow the list
If you need lenses, the choice shrinks. Meta lists -12.00 to +6.00 for Gen 3 Wayfarer, Zena and the Audio frames, but only -6.00 to +4.00 for the Gen 3 Aviator and -12.00 to +2.25 for Meta Glasses. Display covers -4.00 to +4.00, and Vanguard takes no prescription lenses.
What this does not cover
On the camera models, what the capture light shows and what it misses is in how to tell if Meta glasses are recording. Meta also says its Muse agent is coming to the glasses “in the coming months”, and what Muse can see and how to limit it applies there too. For a display in glasses at a different price, Snap’s Specs cost $2,195, and Snap gave no firm ship date when we wrote about them in September.
Questions people ask
Do Ray-Ban Meta Audio glasses have a camera?
No. Meta’s own FAQ answers that question with a flat no. They have open-ear speakers, a 6-mic array, an action button and Meta AI by voice, and Meta quotes up to 12 hours a charge.
What is the difference between Ray-Ban Meta Gen 2 and Gen 3?
Meta lists an hour more battery for Gen 3 (up to 9 hours against 8), a slimmer design, a 6-mic array and a customisable action button. Both have a 12 MP camera and 3K video. Gen 3 starts at $449 and the Gen 2 Wayfarer at $379.
How much are Ray-Ban Meta Gen 3 glasses?
From $449 on Meta’s US store and Ray-Ban’s, read 7 October 2026. Transitions lenses take the Wayfarer to $529, and the limited-edition Aviator is $579 on Ray-Ban’s site.
When do Ray-Ban Meta Audio glasses ship?
Meta says 13 October 2026. They were on pre-order from 23 September, starting at $349 for clear or sun lenses; Transitions versions are $429 on Ray-Ban’s US site.
What are the cheapest Meta glasses?
The Meta Adventurer with a plug-in case, at $249, which Meta calls its most accessible price yet. It goes on sale on 23 October. With a charging case the Adventurer is $299.
How long does the battery last on Ray-Ban Meta Gen 3?
Meta quotes up to 9 hours on a single charge and up to 50 more from a fully charged case, adding that battery life varies with use. These are Meta’s figures; we have not measured them.
Can I get Meta glasses with a prescription?
Most of them. Meta’s store lists -12.00 to +6.00 for Gen 3 Wayfarer, Zena and the Audio frames, -6.00 to +4.00 for the Gen 3 Aviator, -12.00 to +2.25 for Meta Glasses, and none for Oakley Meta Vanguard.
How we researched this
No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.
- What this cannot tell you
- We have not worn any of these glasses, so nothing here says how they fit, sound or photograph. Battery figures are Meta’s, with usage it does not fully define. Meta’s pages disagree with each other in places: its Meta Glasses FAQ still says the range starts at $299 while the same page says $249, and the 43-gram weight in its newsroom post matches only the standard-size Burbank. The $249 Adventurer comes with a plug-in case, and Meta does not say how its battery figures change with that case. Prices are US; other countries differ.
How we chose this, and what we did
- Why this subject
- Meta announced Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3), its first camera-free Ray-Ban Meta Audio glasses, a $249 Meta Adventurer and Meta VR Glasses at Connect on 23 September 2026, covered the same week by The Verge, Engadget and CNET. With Gen 2, Oakley Meta and Meta Ray-Ban Display still on sale, Meta’s store now lists 23 models, and the buyer’s question is what actually separates them on paper. No bitcritiq post had compared the lineup.
- How we looked at it
- Every price, battery figure, camera spec, weight and date is from Meta or Ray-Ban, read on 7 October 2026: Meta’s newsroom posts of 23 September 2026 (Ray-Ban Meta Audio and AI glasses styles; the Connect 2026 round-up; Meta Ray-Ban Display; Meta VR Glasses), Meta’s US store (the compare page, the Ray-Ban Meta, Ray-Ban Meta Audio and Meta Glasses pages, and the product pages for Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) Wayfarer, Ray-Ban Meta Audio Clubmaster and Burbank, and Meta Adventurer, including their collapsed specification and FAQ panels), and Ray-Ban’s US Ray-Ban Meta listing as a cross-check on prices. Prices are the lowest list price Meta’s store shows; none was a sale price. The absence of a Gen 2 case figure is controlled: the same Ray-Ban Meta comparison block gives Gen 2’s single-charge battery and video resolution.
What this rests on
6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.
Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) starts at $449, with a 12 MP camera, 3K video and up to 9 hours of battery, an hour more than Gen 2; it went on sale on 23 September.Official
Meta Newsroom, 23 September 2026: “Gen 3 gets up to nine hours of battery life (an hour more than Gen 2)”, “With a 12 MP camera and 3K Ultra HD video recording”, and “Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) is available today, with prices starting at $449 USD.”
Ray-Ban Meta Audio has no camera, runs up to 12 hours with 48 more from its case, starts at $349 and ships on 13 October.Official
Meta Store FAQ: “Do Ray-Ban Meta Audio glasses have a camera? No.” Newsroom: “up to 12 hours on a single charge, with up to an additional 48 hours from the included charging case” and “You can pre-order a pair today starting at $349 USD and they ship October 13.”
The Audio Burbank weighs 43.1g in the standard size and the Audio Clubmaster 47.1g; Gen 3 Wayfarer weighs 51.5g in the standard size.Official
Meta Store specifications: Burbank “Frame (g) Standard: 43.1, Large: 45.1”; Clubmaster “Frame (g) 47.1”; Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) Wayfarer “Device (g) Standard - 51.5, Large - 53.8”. Meta’s newsroom gives “just 43 grams” for Ray-Ban Meta Audio.
A Meta Adventurer with a plug-in case starts at $249 and goes on sale on 23 October; the Adventurer with a charging case, Capri and Nova start at $299.Official
Newsroom: “a new Meta Adventurer, featuring a black frame and grey lenses, with a plug-in case starting at $249 USD… on sale October 23”. Meta Store, 7 October: Adventurer “$299” with “Charging case” selected; compare page: Meta Nova and Meta Capri “Starting at $299”.
Meta Ray-Ban Display starts at $799, with an in-lens display in the right lens and up to 6 hours of battery.Official
Meta Store compare page: Meta Ray-Ban Display and Meta Neural Band “Starting at $799”, “Up to 6 hours, Additional 24 hours with charging case”, “Integrated in-lens display (right lens)”.
Meta VR Glasses go on sale in spring 2027 for $1,299.99.Official
Meta Newsroom, 23 September 2026: “Meta VR Glasses will go on sale Spring 2027 for $1,299.99 USD.”
Sources 13
- Introducing Ray-Ban Meta Audio and More AI Glasses Styles — Meta Newsroom, 23 September 2026Officialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- The Biggest News From Connect 2026 — Meta Newsroom, 23 September 2026Officialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- New Features for Meta Ray-Ban Display — Meta Newsroom, 23 September 2026Officialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Introducing Meta VR Glasses — Meta Newsroom, 23 September 2026Officialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
Show 9 more · 9 official or standards
- Compare AI glasses — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Ray-Ban Meta AI glasses — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) Wayfarer — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Ray-Ban Meta Audio — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Ray-Ban Meta Audio Burbank — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Ray-Ban Meta Audio Clubmaster — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Meta Glasses — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Meta Adventurer — Meta StoreOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
- Ray-Ban Meta glasses — Ray-Ban USOfficialaccessed Oct 7, 2026
Pass it on
Know someone weighing this up? Send them the answer.
bitcritiq.com/r5c5The link is permanent: it opens this article for good, even if the title changes.
No email, no account
Follow bitcritiq
Every new article, in whatever reader you already use.
Subscribe by RSSAll the ways to follow
Using Chrome on Android? Open the browser menu and tap Follow. New articles then turn up in the Following tab in Discover.
read next
Chargers Rated 100–240V Need Only a Plug Adapter Abroad
Apple, Samsung and Google rate their chargers, and the MacBook Air, for 100–240V. A hair dryer built for 110–120V is a different case.
Send Your AirTag Link to United, Delta, American, JetBlue
Find My’s Share Item Location makes a seven-day link a bag agent can open. Apple says more than 50 airlines accept it.
Family Link Works From an iPhone. Screen Time Needs Apple
Neither app supervises the other maker’s phones. App limits, downtime, web filters and more, side by side, with iOS 27’s changes.
WhatsApp Chats Can Cross Between iPhone and Android
Messages, media and settings move both ways. Display names, Channel media and payment messages don’t, and call logs reach Android alone.