Prepaid Often Skips the Credit Check, Keeps Phones Locked
Verizon’s prepaid unlimited costs $5 more than Simplicity; AT&T’s and T-Mobile’s cost less, and AT&T’s caps speed at 3 Mbps.
If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Verizon and AT&T say their prepaid plans need no credit check, and on all three big carriers prepaid gives something back for that freedom: a phone bought there stays locked for up to a year, the hotspot can be smaller or missing, and some plans are slower by design. Price is not one of the trade-offs everywhere: on 11 October 2026, Verizon’s cheapest prepaid unlimited cost $5 a month more than its postpaid Simplicity plan, while T-Mobile’s cost $5 less and AT&T’s cost less again.
All figures below are from each carrier’s own plan, terms and policy pages, read on 11 October 2026, for one line on the cheapest unlimited plan each side sells. “Not stated” means the carrier’s page does not say.
What it costs, and what you sign up to
| Carrier · plan | Cheapest unlimited, 1 line | AutoPay discount | Taxes and fees | Credit check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verizon Prepaid Unlimited | $60; $50 with Auto Pay | $10, from the second month; credit or debit card | Extra | “No credit check” |
| Verizon Simplicity (postpaid) | $55; $45 with Auto Pay and paper-free billing | $10; checking or savings account, or a Verizon card; enrol within 30 days | Extra | Agreement authorises a credit-history check |
| AT&T Prepaid | $25 Unlimited, new single line online; $35 Unlimited Saver | Saver: “Not eligible”; $25 plan: not stated | Extra, plus a $2.63 cost-recovery fee per payment | None, per AT&T’s prepaid FAQ |
| AT&T Value 2.0 (postpaid) | $50 with AutoPay and paperless billing | $10 with a bank account; $5 with a debit card; none with most credit cards | Extra; activation fee up to $50 and a deposit may apply | Agreement permits one |
| T-Mobile Prepaid Unlimited Monthly | $50; $45 with AutoPay | $5 per account; debit card or bank account | Extra; $10 device connection charge | Not stated |
| T-Mobile Essentials Saver 2.0 (postpaid) | $55; $50 with AutoPay; two lines at most | $5 per line; bank account or debit card | Extra; up to $35 connection charge; $4.49 recovery fee per line, $5.49 from 12 October | “Credit approval & deposit may be required” |
The AutoPay terms differ more than the headline prices. Verizon accepts a credit card for its prepaid Auto Pay discount but not for Simplicity’s, where it wants a checking or savings account or a Verizon-branded card. AT&T’s postpaid discount halves on a debit card and disappears on most credit cards.
Two of these prices carry conditions. Verizon advertises Simplicity at $30 a line with a $15 Switch & Save discount, a promotion we have left out of the table. AT&T’s $25 prepaid plan is for a new single line bought online, with a five-year price lock; existing lines and in-store buyers start at the $35 Unlimited Saver. AT&T also sells a 12-month prepaid plan at $240 paid upfront, which works out to $20 a month and slows to 1.5 Mbps after 16GB.
What the line gets
| Carrier · plan | Network priority, in the carrier’s words | Hotspot | Abroad, included | Video |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verizon Prepaid Unlimited | “In times of congestion, your data may be temporarily slower than other traffic” | 5GB, then up to 600 Kbps | Mexico and Canada talk, text and data; 3G after 2GB a day | Up to 480p; no 5G Ultra Wideband |
| Verizon Simplicity | Not stated in the plan; 4 Mbps after 500GB a month | 10GB, then 1 Mbps | Mexico and Canada talk, text and data | 720p; 5G Ultra Wideband |
| AT&T Prepaid $25 / $35 | Not stated; speed capped at 3 Mbps, then 1.5 Mbps after 30GB | Not included; 5GB add-on, $10 a month | Not stated | SD |
| AT&T Value 2.0 | After 5GB, “may temporarily slow data speeds if the network is busy” | 3GB, then 128 Kbps | US, Canada and Mexico talk, text and data | SD |
| T-Mobile Prepaid Unlimited Monthly | 50GB premium data, then “slower speeds when our network is busy” | Unlimited at 3G speeds | Not included; Mexico and Canada calling and texting is a $5 add-on | SD |
| T-Mobile Essentials Saver 2.0 | 50GB premium data; Essentials sits behind most T-Mobile plans | Tethering at max 3G speeds | Canada and Mexico data at up to 128kbps | SD |
AT&T’s $25 and $35 prepaid plans are the one case here with a speed ceiling from the first gigabyte: 3 Mbps, then 1.5 Mbps after 30GB. That is a cap, not deprioritisation; it applies on an empty tower as much as a busy one.
Deprioritisation is the other kind of slowdown, and it depends on congestion; we explain the mechanism in what “unlimited” data actually limits. On the wording alone, Verizon’s prepaid Unlimited carries a congestion clause from the first gigabyte, while the Simplicity plan description has none. T-Mobile’s network page says “most T-Mobile-branded plans” are prioritised before Essentials plans and Metro by T-Mobile; it does not say where T-Mobile Prepaid sits.
When a phone bought there unlocks
| Carrier | Postpaid phone | Prepaid phone |
|---|---|---|
| Verizon | Automatically, when bought at full retail price or once the financing balance is paid | Automatically, after “365 days of paid and active service” |
| AT&T | Bought more than 60 days ago, paid in full, not reported lost or stolen, account not past due | After “twelve months of service”; an iPhone (affiliate link to Amazon, opens in a new tab) needs an unlock request, Android the AT&T Device Unlock app |
| T-Mobile | Active at least 40 days on the line and paid in full; unlocked remotely within two business days | 365 days after activation, or sooner if the line has had more than $100 in refills; more than 14 days after purchase |
A postpaid phone bought outright can unlock within weeks; the same phone bought on prepaid waits up to a year. That matters most if you plan to travel with a local eSIM or switch carriers, which both need an unlocked phone; how the carriers’ day passes compare with a travel eSIM covers that case. Bringing an unlocked phone avoids the wait entirely: Verizon’s prepaid bring-your-own-phone offer requires “a compatible, unlocked device and SIM”.
What prepaid gains
No credit check, on Verizon’s and AT&T’s own wording. Verizon Prepaid’s banner reads “No contract, no credit check”; AT&T’s prepaid FAQ says its plans “require no contract or credit check”. Postpaid terms at all three carriers allow one: Verizon’s customer agreement authorises it “to investigate your credit history at any time” for postpaid service, AT&T’s service agreement gives permission to “obtain your credit information”, and T-Mobile lists “A credit check” among what you need to open a postpaid account.
Prepaid also stops when the money does. AT&T says prepaid customers “do not receive a bill” and that each payment buys service that “is available for 30 days”; T-Mobile’s terms renew a prepaid plan automatically “if sufficient balance”.
AT&T adds a bridge between the two. Its prepaid plans include Level Up: after six consecutive on-time payments, AT&T says you qualify to buy a phone on a 0% APR, 36-month installment plan on postpaid “regardless of your credit score”, on condition that you move to a postpaid plan. We describe the terms; whether to borrow is your call.
Buying the phone
If you buy a prepaid phone in a shop rather than from the carrier, the store’s return terms apply too, and they can differ for prepaid: Best Buy’s $45 fee on activatable devices exempts prepaid phones, as set out in which retailers charge restocking fees. Switching to either side keeps your number; the difference between an eSIM and a physical SIM covers what changes in the phone when you move.
The carriers’ other prepaid brands
Each carrier also owns cheaper prepaid brands, which this piece does not cover. Verizon’s newsroom lists Visible, Total Wireless, Straight Talk, Tracfone, Simple Mobile, SafeLink and Walmart Family Mobile alongside Verizon Prepaid. AT&T’s brand history says it bought Leap Wireless, the operator of Cricket Wireless, in 2014. T-Mobile owns Metro by T-Mobile, named on its network page, and completed its purchase of Mint Mobile on 1 May 2024. Their terms are their own, and none of the figures above applies to them.
Questions people ask
What is the difference between prepaid and postpaid phone plans?
Prepaid is paid before the month starts, with no contract; AT&T says prepaid customers add money to their account instead of receiving a bill. Postpaid bills you after the month and usually involves a credit check. On the same carrier, terms also differ on hotspot, phone unlocking and price.
Is prepaid cheaper than postpaid?
It depends on the carrier. On 11 October 2026, Verizon’s cheapest prepaid unlimited was $5 dearer than postpaid Simplicity ($50 vs $45 with Auto Pay). T-Mobile’s was $5 cheaper ($45 vs $50 with AutoPay), and AT&T’s $25 or $35 prepaid plans undercut its $50 Value 2.0, with a 3 Mbps speed cap.
Do prepaid plans get deprioritized?
Verizon’s prepaid Unlimited says your data “may be temporarily slower than other traffic” in times of congestion. T-Mobile’s prepaid Unlimited Monthly lowers priority after 50GB. AT&T’s $25 and $35 prepaid plans cap speed at 3 Mbps outright, and do not state a priority level.
How long until a prepaid phone can be unlocked?
A year on Verizon (365 days of paid, active service) and AT&T (twelve months of service). T-Mobile unlocks after 365 days, or earlier if the line has had more than $100 in refills and the phone was bought more than 14 days ago. Postpaid phones unlock once paid off, after 40 to 60 days on T-Mobile and AT&T.
Do prepaid phone plans need a credit check?
Verizon Prepaid says “no credit check”, and AT&T’s prepaid page says the same. T-Mobile’s prepaid pages do not state it either way. All three carriers’ postpaid terms allow a credit check, and AT&T and T-Mobile say a deposit may be required.
Does prepaid unlimited include a hotspot?
Varies. Verizon’s prepaid Unlimited includes 5GB, then up to 600 Kbps. T-Mobile’s prepaid Unlimited Monthly has unlimited hotspot at 3G speeds. AT&T’s $25 and $35 prepaid plans include none; a 5GB hotspot add-on is $10 a month.
How we researched this
No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.
- What this cannot tell you
- Carriers’ own terms, not measurements: we have not tested any plan’s speed, priority or hotspot. Prices are the cheapest unlimited phone plan for one line on each side, before taxes and fees, and change often; multi-line prices, older plans, and the carriers’ separate prepaid brands are left out. AT&T’s plans page shows Value 2.0 at $50 for one line after AutoPay and paperless billing, and does not print the price without them. AT&T’s $25 prepaid plan is for a new single line bought online; its terms call $25 the regular base rate, but it is not open to existing lines, so the $35 Unlimited Saver is shown too. T-Mobile’s network page ranks Essentials and Metro by T-Mobile below most T-Mobile plans but does not say where T-Mobile Prepaid plans sit. Verizon’s prepaid page and Verizon’s policy word the unlock clock slightly differently (365 days “after activation” and “365 days of paid and active service”); the policy is quoted. This is a description of terms, not advice on credit or borrowing.
How we chose this, and what we did
- Why this subject
- Google Trends put “best phone plans”, “phone plans”, “best phone service” and “best cell phone” among the top mobile queries across several pulls in the week to 4 October 2026 (ops/trends/2026-10-04-digest.md). Our existing posts mention prepaid only in passing, for travel eSIMs, unlocking abroad and store return fees; none sets one carrier’s prepaid plan beside its postpaid plan. This is not a plan recommendation: it reports what each carrier’s own pages state and leaves a cell “not stated” where they do not.
- How we looked at it
- Read through a browser on 11 October 2026, all first-party. Verizon: the Verizon Prepaid home page and its unlocking FAQ, the prepaid plans page (plan prices and terms from the page’s own plan-comparison data and legal text), the Simplicity plan page, the Simplicity FAQs, Important Plan Information, the network management page, the Device Unlocking Policies (effective 18 February 2026) and the Mobile Customer Agreement. AT&T: the prepaid plans page and the offer-details terms of its $25 Unlimited and $35 Unlimited Saver plans, the unlimited plans page with one line selected, the Unlimited Your Way terms, the device unlock page, the Consumer Service Agreement and AT&T’s brand history page. T-Mobile: the prepaid plans page and its full plan details, the prepaid plans support page, the postpaid plans page with one line selected and the Essentials Saver 2.0 terms, the Open Internet network-management page, the device unlock policy, and the T-Mobile newsroom on Mint Mobile. Verizon’s prepaid brands are from a Verizon newsroom release of 8 May 2026. Absence claims have controls on the same page: Simplicity’s plan page has no congestion clause, while it does list “10 GB mobile hotspot data”; AT&T’s prepaid plan terms state no priority level or roaming, while they do state “Mobile Hotspot use is not included” and texting “from the U.S. to over 230 countries”; T-Mobile’s prepaid support page states no credit check for prepaid, while the same page lists “A credit check” for a postpaid account. AT&T’s prepaid “no credit check” answer is in the FAQ data of its prepaid plans page; the visible page says “No credit needed” for its Level Up feature.
What this rests on
6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.
Verizon’s prepaid Unlimited plan is $60 a month, or $50 with Auto Pay after the first month; its postpaid Simplicity plan is $55, or $45 with Auto Pay and paper-free billing.Official
Verizon prepaid plans page: Unlimited “$50 /mo with Auto Pay First month for $60/mo” and “$10/mo Auto Pay discount available on phone plans $45 & higher after 1st month… Credit or debit card required.” Simplicity FAQs: “Simplicity Plan is a flat-rate $45/month per line* when you enroll within 30 days in Auto Pay and paper-free billing*. The base price is $55/month per line without Auto Pay enrollment.”
AT&T’s $25 and $35 prepaid unlimited plans cap data at 3 Mbps, slow to 1.5 Mbps after 30GB, and include no hotspot.Official
AT&T $35 Unlimited Saver terms: “Plan includes 30GB of data per 30-day period at a max speed of 3 Mbps. If 30GB of data is used in a 30-day period, all data speeds are reduced to a max of 1.5 Mbps… Mobile Hotspot use is not included.” The $25 Unlimited Plan terms say the same, and add “Online only” and that it is for a new single line.
A phone bought on Verizon Prepaid stays locked until 365 days of paid, active service; a Verizon postpaid phone unlocks when bought at full price or paid off.Official
Verizon Device Unlocking Policies (effective 18 February 2026): “Devices will be unlocked automatically when purchased at full retail price or if the device financing agreement balance is paid in full.” Prepaid: “Devices purchased from us will remain locked to the network until the completion of 365 days of paid and active service.”
AT&T unlocks a prepaid phone after twelve months of service; T-Mobile after 365 days, or sooner if the account has had more than $100 in refills per line.Official
AT&T device unlock page: “AT&T Prepaid® phones with twelve months of service can be unlocked.” T-Mobile Device Unlock Policy: “At least 365 days must have passed since the device was activated… If the device was activated less than 365 days ago, then the Prepaid account associated with the device must have had more than $100 in refills during that period for each line active on the account. In addition, more than 14 days must have passed since the device was purchased.”
T-Mobile prioritizes most T-Mobile-branded plans before Essentials plans and Metro by T-Mobile.Official
T-Mobile Open Internet page: “Data for customers on most T-Mobile-branded plans is prioritized before the data of customers on Essentials plans and Metro by T-Mobile or Assurance Wireless-branded plans.”
Verizon Prepaid advertises no credit check, while Verizon’s and T-Mobile’s postpaid terms include one.Official
Verizon Prepaid: “No contract, no credit check.” Verizon Mobile Customer Agreement, for Postpay Service: “you agree to authorize us to investigate your credit history at any time”. T-Mobile Support, to activate a postpaid account: “A valid ID A credit check Compatible device”.
Sources 21
- Verizon Prepaid — Verizon (home page and FAQ)Officialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Verizon Prepaid phone plans — VerizonOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Simplicity Plan — VerizonOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Verizon Simplicity Plan FAQs — Verizon SupportOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
Show 17 more · 17 official or standards
- Important Plan Information — Verizon SupportOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Network Management Information — About VerizonOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Device Unlocking Policies — Verizon (effective 18 February 2026)Officialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Mobile Customer Agreement — Verizon SupportOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Total Wireless Launches New Unlimited Plans — About Verizon, 8 May 2026Officialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- AT&T Prepaid Phone Plans — AT&T (including plan offer details)Officialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Unlimited Data Cell Phone Plans & Hotspot Data — AT&TOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- AT&T Unlimited Your Way plan terms — AT&TOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Unlock an AT&T device — AT&TOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- AT&T Consumer Service Agreement — AT&TOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- History of AT&T Brands — AT&T Intellectual PropertyOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Compare our best prepaid phone plans — T-Mobile Prepaid (full plan details)Officialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Prepaid plans & services — T-Mobile SupportOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Compare our best unlimited cell phone plans — T-Mobile (Essentials Saver 2.0 terms)Officialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Open Internet: network management — T-MobileOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Device Unlock Policy — T-MobileOfficialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
- Mint and Ultra: Welcome to the T-Mobile Family! — T-Mobile Newsroom, 1 May 2024Officialaccessed Oct 11, 2026
Pass it on
Know someone weighing this up? Send them the answer.
bitcritiq.com/vdt8The link is permanent: it opens this article for good, even if the title changes.
No email, no account
Follow bitcritiq
Every new article, in whatever reader you already use.
Subscribe by RSSAll the ways to follow
Using Chrome on Android? Open the browser menu and tap Follow. New articles then turn up in the Following tab in Discover.
read next
Chargers Rated 100–240V Need Only a Plug Adapter Abroad
Apple, Samsung and Google rate their chargers, and the MacBook Air, for 100–240V. A hair dryer built for 110–120V is a different case.
Send Your AirTag Link to United, Delta, American, JetBlue
Find My’s Share Item Location makes a seven-day link a bag agent can open. Apple says more than 50 airlines accept it.
Family Link Works From an iPhone. Screen Time Needs Apple
Neither app supervises the other maker’s phones. App limits, downtime, web filters and more, side by side, with iOS 27’s changes.
WhatsApp Chats Can Cross Between iPhone and Android
Messages, media and settings move both ways. Display names, Channel media and payment messages don’t, and call logs reach Android alone.