Audio & Home · On Paper

AirPods 5: The $20 Case Is Where the Battery Upgrade Lives

Both models get the new noise cancelling. Only the $149 one gets Apple's longer battery and volume swipe, according to Apple's own release.

The two AirPods 5 models side by side. AirPods 5 at $129: Active Noise Cancellation, up to 50 percent more noise removed than AirPods 4 with ANC, and Live Translation. AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case at $149: everything in the cheaper model, plus up to 5 hours with ANC, up to 22 hours with the case, and volume swipe on the stem.
Illustration: bitcritiq
Reading mode

If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. It never affects our verdicts or scores — how that works. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The $20 difference is not a charging feature. Apple’s own release says the $149 AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case are the model that “add longer battery life and on-stem volume control” — the cheaper model gets the new noise cancelling, but not those.

So the useful question is not whether you charge wirelessly. It is whether you listen for longer than four hours at a time, and whether you want to change the volume without reaching for your phone.

What both models share

Both AirPods 5 models get the new Active Noise Cancellation, which Apple says removes “up to 50 percent more noise compared to AirPods 4 with ANC”, along with an improved Transparency mode, Adaptive Audio, Conversation Awareness and Live Translation. Apple also describes improved dust, sweat and water resistance.

The noise figure is Apple’s own, and its release does not publish the test conditions behind it. It is a claim about these earbuds against Apple’s previous ones, not a comparison with anyone else’s.

What only the $149 model adds

AirPods 5 With Wireless Charging Case
Price $129 $149
Noise cancelling Yes Yes
Battery with ANC, per charge Not stated separately Up to 5 hours
Battery with the case Not stated separately Up to 22 hours
Volume swipe on the stem No Yes
Wireless charging No Apple Watch, Qi and USB-C

Apple places its battery figures in the section about the Wireless Charging Case model: up to five hours with noise cancelling, “one hour longer than AirPods 4 with ANC”, and up to 22 hours with the case. The release attributes the battery gain to a redesigned battery in that model, not to the cheaper one.

If you use more than Apple devices

AirPods follow you between an iPhone, iPad and Mac automatically, but Apple’s own guide conditions that on the devices being signed in to the same Apple Account. A Windows laptop or an Android phone is not part of that. We set out how Apple’s switching differs from the Bluetooth multipoint other makers use in what two devices at once actually costs.

Before you buy either

Both go on sale in stores on 18 September. If you are choosing between these and everything else, our earbud shortlist ranks what the reviews agree on once they exist. Two older guides may save you a return: how to tell whether you are listening too loud, and what to check when one earbud sounds quieter than the other.

How we researched this

No one at bitcritiq has handled this product. Everything here comes from published sources, listed below.

What this cannot tell you
'Up to 50 percent more noise' and 'best-in-class' are Apple's own descriptions, not measurements, and Apple does not publish the test conditions behind them in the release. Battery figures are Apple's maximums. We make no recommendation between the two models, because that depends on how you listen and we have not used either.
How we chose this, and what we did
Why this subject
AirPods 5 went on pre-order on 9 September and reach stores on 18 September, in the run-up to the season when headphones sell hardest. Apple's release lists two models twenty dollars apart, and the difference between them is spread across several paragraphs rather than stated in one place.
How we looked at it
Every price, figure and feature is from Apple's own newsroom announcement, dated 9 September 2026 and read on 15 September. Device switching is from Apple's AirPods user guide. Nothing here has been tested or listened to by us: this is the product on paper, and every performance figure is Apple's claim.

What this rests on

6 claims, all official. Nothing here was measured by bitcritiq — see how we test for why. Open a claim to read the source it came from.

  • AirPods 5 cost $129, or $149 with the Wireless Charging Case.Official

    Apple's announcement gives AirPods 5 at $129 and AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case at $149.

  • Apple says the $149 model is the one that adds longer battery life and on-stem volume control.Official

    Apple states that AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case 'add longer battery life and on-stem volume control for $149'.

  • Apple quotes up to five hours of listening with noise cancelling on the $149 model, one hour more than AirPods 4 with ANC.Official

    In its section on the Wireless Charging Case model, Apple states up to five hours of playback with ANC on a single charge, one hour longer than AirPods 4 with ANC, extending to up to 22 hours with the case.

  • Apple says both models remove up to half as much noise again as AirPods 4 with ANC.Official

    Apple states AirPods 5 remove 'up to 50 percent more noise compared to AirPods 4 with ANC', a figure Apple gives without published test conditions.

  • Pre-orders opened on 9 September, with AirPods 5 in stores from 18 September.Official

    Apple's release, dated 9 September 2026, says customers can pre-order starting today, with availability in stores beginning Friday, September 18.

  • AirPods switch between devices automatically only when those devices share an Apple Account.Official

    Apple's AirPods guide states that when you are signed in to the same Apple Account on your Apple devices, AirPods connect to whichever device you are listening to.

Sources 3

  1. Apple introduces AirPods 5 with best-in-class open-ear Active Noise Cancellation — Apple Newsroom, 9 September 2026Officialaccessed Sep 15, 2026
  2. Switch AirPods between Apple devices — Apple SupportOfficialaccessed Sep 15, 2026
  3. Two Devices at Once Costs You LDAC — bitcritiqaccessed Sep 15, 2026

read next

A six-row table headed The CD drives ran out, read from PS Audio's and Naim's own pages and forums on 20 September 2026: the PS Audio PMG transport is out of stock at $8,999; the Naim Uniti Star is listed as no longer available; Naim's replacement is the Star Lite at 11kg with no disc slot; the mechanism's last orders at D&M were July 2024; the price of that mechanism doubled at the last order; remaining drives are held back for repairs.
Audio & Home · Explainer

PS Audio and Naim Each Lost a Disc Product to Drive Supply

Both makers say so on their own sites. The mechanism they bought stopped being made, and the drives left over are being kept for repairs.

How long each TV platform says it keeps updating, from each maker's own pages, read 20 September 2026. Samsung Tizen: up to 7 years of OS updates. LG webOS: 5 years of updates and upgrades. Fire TV: at least 4 years, and dated per model. Roku: no period; OS 15.3 reaches 2014 TVs. Google TV: no period published. Apple TV: no period; tvOS 27 drops Apple TV HD.
Audio & Home · Explainer

Three TV Platforms Publish an Update Promise. Three Do Not

Samsung says up to seven years of Tizen, LG five of webOS, Amazon at least four with dates per model. Google, Roku and Apple name no period.

The viewing-data switch, by brand, with setting names from each maker's own pages, read 19 September 2026. Samsung: Viewing Information Services. LG: Viewing Information agreement. Roku TV: Smart TV Experience. Vizio: Viewing Data. Fire TV: Preferences, then Privacy Settings. Apple TV 4K: Use Play History (TV app).
Audio & Home · Guide

The TV Viewing Tracker Has a Different Name at Each Brand

Samsung, LG, Roku and Vizio all let you switch it off. LG and Roku say it also covers boxes plugged into the TV, not just its tuner.

Bose's new open earbuds, on paper, from Bose's press release of 17 September 2026. Ultra Open, 2nd Gen: $299, 9 hours, IPX4, aptX Adaptive. Sport Open: $199, 7 hours, IP54, no Immersive. Both: Wireless charging case, multipoint. Pre-orders: 19 September. Ships: 1 October. The original Ultra Open Earbuds were $199 on bose.com on 17 September 2026.
Audio & Home · On Paper

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds 2nd Gen: Two More Hours, Same $299

The new $199 Sport model drops Immersive Audio and makes no aptX claim. The original was $199 on Bose's own store on 17 September.

Specifications